Peculiar Treasures :: A Biblical Who’s Who by Frederick Buechner

When Amy talked about her Frederick Buechner week she gave us the chance to read The Eyes of the Heart and if we wanted to choose to read another book and review it.  So I went in search of one of his over 30 books one in particular caught my eye.  Peculiar Treasures.  I remembered the verse and found myself to be intrigued as to how he would handle this books.

I started the book during a long wait at the Doctor’s office.  I soon realized this was quite a different book and I would be laughing out loud at certain points.

He begins his introduction to Abraham this way….

If a schlemiel is a person who goes through life spilling soup on people and a schlemoozle is the one who keeps getting spilled on, then Abraham is a schlemoozle. – Frederick Buechner, Peculiar Treasures page 3.

Peculiar Treasures is a unique look at many of the Bible’s most familiar characters (and some not so familiar).  I came away from the book with a new appreciation for those characters and for the Word.  I was reminded again that the Bible is full or regular and ordinary people and a beyond extraordinary God.  Buechner breaks down the characters stories into simple everyday terms using contemporary language and scenes. (His little blurb on Adam is quite interesting….and calling Boaz long in the tooth cracked me up!)

Peculiar Treasures is a fun and unique trip through the Who’s Who of the Word….but just a warning if you are overly religious and take life too seriously….this is not the book for you.

For those who love a good laugh and want to be reminded that the Bible is full of regular people just like you whose lives are transformed by an amazing God… Peculiar Treasures is a read you would enjoy.

1 Response to “Peculiar Treasures :: A Biblical Who’s Who by Frederick Buechner”


  1. 1 http://www.asport.pl/k/251/zegarki-elektroniczne/5JeMRutS/ July 11, 2013 at 3:59 am

    I believe everything published was actually very reasonable.
    But, what about this? suppose you typed a catchier post title?
    I am not saying your content isn’t good, but what if you added a post title to maybe get a person’s attention?
    I mean Peculiar Treasures :: A Biblical Whos Who by Frederick Buechner | Critty Joy ♥’s Books is kinda plain. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s home page
    and see how they create post titles to grab viewers to click.
    You might add a video or a related pic or two to get
    readers interested about everything’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it might make your posts a little bit more interesting.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,798 fellow journeyers

