Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst

I am going to be honest…I have not finished this book yet.

Why?

Because it is messing me up.  A friend said it was all up in her junk and oh boy was she right.

I have had to put the book down many times and walk away for a while because the emotional impact of what Mrs TerKeurst is sharing is to much for my heart.  I have been emotional overwhelmed several times because I feel as if she is talking to directly to me and my struggles.  It was like she peeked in my heart.  This book has helped me see I am not alone!

Made to Crave is a convicting book…but not so much about one’s weight or body image but reminds us how often we put so many other things ahead of God.  I have really been thinking a lot of how I crave so many other things in my life….why not Him?  Made to Crave is a unique look at weight and body image issues but it is also about deeper heart issues too.

The format of Made to Crave makes it easy for reflection and gives the reader a chance to really think on things.  I enjoyed Lysa TerKeurst’s writing style she has a way of making you feel like a friend talking to a friend.  While the subject matter may be deep the writing is comfortable and easy to read.

I cannot help but think this is a book that has been need for many years.  So many of us struggle with our body image and our weight.  Mrs. TerKeurst not only takes you on her journey but on the journey of others who have found the beautiful truth that satisfying your emotional needs with God instead of food are life changing.

About the Book:

Just because a woman finally fits into her skinny jeans doesn’t mean she’s won her battle with food. Too often, women overlook the spiritual component to their physical struggle with healthy eating. Made to Crave taps into the desires God gave you to consume food without letting food consume you!

Made to Crave is the missing link between a woman’s desire to be healthy and the spiritual empowerment necessary to make that happen. The reality is we were made to crave. Craving isn’t a bad thing. But we must realize God created us to crave more of him. Many of us have misplaced that craving by overindulging in physical pleasures instead of lasting spiritual satisfaction. If you are struggling with unhealthy eating habits, you can break the “I’ll start again Monday” cycle, and start feeling good about yourself today. Learn to stop beating yourself up over the numbers on the scale. Discover that your weight loss struggle isn’t a curse but rather a blessing in the making, and replace justifications that lead to diet failure with empowering go-to scripts that lead to victory. You can reach your healthy weight goal – and grow closer to God in the process. This is not a how-to book. This is not the latest and greatest dieting plan. This book is the necessary companion for you to use alongside whatever healthy lifestyle plan you choose. This is a book and Bible study to help you find the “want to” in making healthy lifestyle choices. 224 pages. Companion Bible study DVD set also available.  http://madetocrave.org/purchase-resources/

Buy the book.

Watch the book trailer.

 

***I received a complimentary copy of Made to Crave for my own honest thoughts and opinions.

4 Responses to “Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst”


  1. 1 Boyd December 21, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    I rarely leave a response, but I looked at a few of the responses
    here Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst Critty Joy ♥’s Books. I do have some questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it simply me or does it give the impression like a few of the comments appear like they
    are left by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are
    writing on additional places, I would like to keep up with you.
    Could you list of all of your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  2. 2 Jonnie March 8, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    Hello There. I found your weblog the use of msn.
    That is an extremely smartly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.


  1. 1 Book Review: Capture His Heart, Lisa TerKeurst | Window Panes Trackback on January 27, 2011 at 9:38 pm
  2. 2 Victory Over Temptation is in The Word! « HOPEannFAITH Trackback on February 17, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,799 fellow journeyers

