Two Tickets to the Christmas Ball by Donita K. Paul.

I absolutely adore Christmas novels.  So when I got the chance to read and review Two Tickets to the Christmas Ball by Donita K. Paul I was thrilled.

For the most part I really enjoyed the story.  I did not know when I requested the book it contained “magically” elements but I thought they enhanced the story nicely.  I absolutely loved the main character Cora.  She was flawed and imperfect and working on her walk with God.  I know that is where we all are.  I also enjoyed the character of Simon.  My favorite character however was Sandy.  From the moment Mrs Paul introduced her I loved her.  The way Mrs. Paul handled the character of Sandy is absolutely wonderful.  Sandy may have downs syndrome but that was not going to stop her from going after an amazing life!

The only problem I had with the book was the choppy writing style of Mrs. Paul.  The book just did not flow well.  It was hard to read but Mrs. Paul’s characters and story will keep you reading.  The last 20 or so pages really make the story wroth reading.  I found myself wishing I could go to the ball…and that I could find Sage Street!

If you are looking for a delightful Christmas story full of magic and romance pick up Two Tickets to the Christmas Ball…you will not regret it!

 

About the book:

Can mysterious matchmaking booksellers bring two lonely hearts together in time for Christmas?

In a sleepy, snow-covered city, Cora Crowder is busy preparing for the holiday season. Searching for a perfect gift, a fortuitous trip to Warner, Werner, and Wizbotterdad’s (a most unusual bookshop) leads to an unexpected encounter with co-worker Simon Derrick. And the surprise discovery of a ticket for a truly one-of-a-kind Christmas Ball.

Every year, the matchmaking booksellers of the Sage Street bookshop host an enchanting, old-fashioned Christmas Ball for the romantic matches they’ve decided to bring together.

This year, will Simon and Cora discover a perfect chemistry in their opposite personalities and shared faith? Or will the matchmakers’ best laid plans end up ruining everything this holiday?

 

About the author and her other books.

Read the first chapter.

Buy the book.

***Thank you to Waterbrook Multnomah and the Blogging for Books program for my complimentary copy of Two Tickets to the Christmas Ball by Donita K. Paul.

1 Response to “Two Tickets to the Christmas Ball by Donita K. Paul.”


  1. 1 donitakate December 2, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Point taken on the “choppy” style. Actually that is not my usual voice, but I played with it in this book because, for me, it fit the staccato rhythm of Cora’s pursuit of Christmas. A persistent, hard beat that was in need of pauses and a mellow touch exemplified her dilema. It worked for me, but not for you. That’s all right. I’m not offended, just wish I’d been able to nail it for those readers who felt that technique with the same reaction I get with the old nails across the chalkboard cliche. I’m glad you liked Sandy. Each member of Simon’s family held a tender spot in my heart. And Zee’s crass arrival wounded several hearts. I trust the Booterbaw sisters can heal her hurts. We’ll have to leave that one to the imagination.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,769 fellow journeyers

