Permission to Speak Freely by Anne Jackson.

I started following Anne on twitter a few months ago when she went to Moldova with Children’s Hope Chest (poor Anne became sick and had to return early but the impact she made on my heart while writing from there will be forever etched).

I like that Anne is challenging with her thoughts and words.  So when Permission to Speak Freely came available for review I jumped at the chance.

The first thing you will notice about the book is that it is beautiful.  The binding, pages, and print of the book are unique and I was immediately drawn to the artwork throughout the book. I immediately read the introduction and was intrigued. Then I put the book down. It held so many things I had lately been asking myself and it made me uncomfortable.
After struggling with the essential question Anne ask, What is one thing you feel you can’t say in Church?, for several weeks I picked up the book this past weekend and read. Permission to Speak Freely is thoughtful and insightful look not only into Anne’s life but also the life of many Christians who are struggling with brokenness and wanting acceptance in the very place that it should be most available. The Church. Through a series of essays about her own life and the stories of others we come away with invaluable knowledge of at least two things. We are all messily broken and we are not alone.
Anne’s unique look into this question and the results that follow held me captive on Saturday afternoon as I explored the book…the words and the art. As I closed the book it was with a profound relief of not feeling alone in my less than perfectness and my dissatisfaction….and hopeful that other people, including Anne, were wanting something more.

If you are struggling with questions about you, other Christians, and the Church I cannot recommend Permission to Speak Freely high enough. It is an engaging and transparent look at the heartbeat many people are beginning to feel. A unique stirring to want more for the Church….and more from ourselves.

About the Book:
“What is the one thing you feel you can’t say in church?”

In May 2008, Anne Jackson asked a question on her blog, “What is one thing you feel you can’t say in church?” Hundreds responded. Everyone had a story.

Permission to Speak Freely is the artistic collaboration and movement of author Anne Jackson, who is through with keeping brokenness in the dark. Bringing to light the original intent of God’s sanctuary as a place of help and healing, Anne reveals that through confession, both to God and to others, we can live lives that are whole and healed.

Told with disarming transparency, Anne shares what led to her own addictions and the ensuing lifestyle that left her wounded and withdrawn. She includes dramatic stories of others that also learned to lose their fear, pride, and masks; to identify their hurts; and to find the courage to speak freely. Readers will share in the opportunity to find their own redemption and freedom.

View a snippet of the book:

Buy The BOOK.
Visit the WEBSITE.
Anne on Twitter.
Flowerdust.net. Anne’s Blog.

***Thank You Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze for providing me with a complimentary copy of Permission to Speak Freely by Anne Jackson in exchange for my honest and thoughtful review****

0 Responses to “Permission to Speak Freely by Anne Jackson.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,751 fellow journeyers

