Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz

A few months ago my sweet friend, Julie Lessman, recommended a new author to me.  Laura Frantz.  I immediately added her first book, The Frontiersman’s Daughter, to my Amazon cart but never bought it because life got in the way.  So when I was offered the chance to review her second book, Courting Morrow Little, I immediately signed up!

I am pretty picky about the historical genre books I read.  When I first fell in love with reading I devoured Janette Oak’s books.  Soon after I read Gilbert Morris’ Cheney Duvall M.D. series and loved them.  But over time I grew tired of what seemed to be the same periods and similar stories.  Julie’s books brought back my love of fabulous historicals.  I was immediately intrigued with the premise of Laura Frantz’s second book, Courting Morrow Little.  When I read the back cover of the book I could not wait to dive in.  Unfortunately life got in the way with the death of my darling Memaw.  So this week I picked the book back up….and could. not. put. it. down.  I have not be able to say that about a book in a while!

The word I thought of for Courting Morrow Little is unlikely.  It is set in an unlikely place, with unlikely people and an unlikely romance.  That is one of the many reasons I enjoyed it immensely.  Laura Frantz writes of the frontier days of Kentucke.  In the time of Redcoats and Indians.  She writes of the tensions and the hardships.  And in the midst of that she weaves a beautiful story of love.  One of my favorite things about this book is that the story continues after Morrow finds love.  We get to read on about her life.  I love a good romance novel but at times wish they did not end at the engagement or wedding day.  I love reading past that moment and seeing how the characters live.  I also love that Mrs Frantz creates a wonderful tension with her characters that keeps you reading but does not leave you wanting something different…or more.   The book is also not a they get married and live happily ever after the end kind of book.  Sad things happen in this book, hard things happen in this book and you get to read how the characters triumph over those odds and move forward. One of the main themes of the book is forgiveness and I definitely struggle in that area so reading as Morrow struggles with this I found myself caught up in the turmoil Morrow felt. It is a hard storyline that Frantz handles very well. So while not always happy the characters grow and strive to do things differently and to learn.  I enjoyed the realness of the book.  Another plus is Laura Frantz’s writing style is unique.  It is almost lyrical in quality and at times I would get lost in the world she had created.  Books like that are few and far between.

Courting Morrow Little is a different book from the usually historical novel and I very much enjoyed it.  I find myself hoping Morrow and her family make an appearance in Mrs Frantz’s next novel…which I also hope is about a certain character ;)

If you enjoy the historical genre you will not regret reading Laura Frantz’s Courting Morrow Little.  I enjoyed it so much I immediately went to amazon.com and ordered her first book….which will be here on Tuesday and I cannot wait to read it!

Caught between the wilderness and civilization, Morrow Little must find her way to true love.

Morrow Little is haunted by the memory of the day her family was torn apart by raiding Shawnee warriors. Now that she is nearly a grown woman and her father is ailing, she must make difficult choices about the future. Several men–ranging from the undesired to the unthinkable–vie for her attentions, but she finds herself inexplicably drawn to a forbidden love that both terrifies and intrigues her. Can she betray the memory of her lost loved ones–and garner suspicion from her friends–by pursuing a life with him? Or should she seal her own misery by marrying a man she doesn’t love?

This sweeping tale of romance and forgiveness will envelop you as it takes you from a Kentucky fort through the vast wilderness of the West.

“Available July 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Buy Courting Morrow Little from Amazon.

Visit Laura Frantz’s website.

Thank You to Donna Hauser of Revell for providing me with a complimentary copy of Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz.

2 Responses to “Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz”


  1. 1 Julie Lessman July 31, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Oh, Christy, I am SOOO glad you finally read Laura’s work — I just knew you would love it as I do!!

    I have Courting Morrow Little sitting on my desk with two books before it, but I must admit that I am chomping at the bit to dive in. I have heard nothing but wonderful things about this book written by a truly wonderful lady.

    Hugs,
    Julie

    • 2 Laura Frantz August 13, 2010 at 9:58 pm

      Oh Julie and Christy, You’ve both made my day!! Night, rather:) Bless you for being such a huge blessing and encouragement!! Wow – what a gift! Praying His best for you in all you say and do!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,752 fellow journeyers

