Chasing Francis by Ian Cron

I finished this book last month. I have been unable to write about it yet because it had a profound impact on me and I am just not sure how to convey that. I found myself fascinated by the life of St. Francis of Assisi and I found parts of my own heart mirrored in Chase’s journey. The book is well written in a unique way. It is a fictional account with non-fictional elements. The story is simple yet deeply moving. Chase takes a pilgrimage and finds himself on a unique journey following in the footsteps of St Francis of Assisi. As Chase’s pilgrimage progresses we get to the heart of any Christian’s journey. Faith. In the end I found myself having realized how much I had learned from Chase and St Francis….and me. If you cannot take time for a pilgrimage all one has to do is take the time to read Chasing Francis.

Chase Falson has lost his faith-and he did it right in front of the congregation at his megachurch. Now the elders want him to take some time away: far away. So Chase crosses the Atlantic to visit his uncle, a Franciscan priest, where he encounters the teachings of Francis of Assisi and rediscovers his ancient faith. Follow Chase’s spiritual journey in the footsteps of Francis, and then begin one of your own through the pilgrim’s guide included in this book. Come discover Francis, the first postmodern Christian.

Read a Sample Chapter.

I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 Responses to “Chasing Francis by Ian Cron”


  1. 1 Kristine July 14, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    This book sounds fabulous. I have to admit I just spent the last hour at work ignoring everything to read that first chapter. I would love to read the rest.

  2. 2 Kristen Schiffman July 19, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    I’ve really been wanting to read this one. I have to.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,752 fellow journeyers

