Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff

I found the website Stuff Christians Like early last year after seeing some one link to one of Jon Acuff’s posts. I was hooked. I found Jon to be insightful and hilarious. I also found him to be heart felt and honest. I started following him on twitter and found he is as genuine as he seems.

Meet the author of Stuff Christians Like, Jonathan Acuff.


For the last ten years, Jonathan Acuff has written advertising for clients ranging from the Home Depot to Chick-fil-A. In addition to his many day jobs, he also writes a blog called http://www.stuffchristianslike.net. He and his wife live with their two daughters outside of Atlanta, Georgia.

An Interview with Jon:

On Personal things…
Tell me a little bit about your background and your family.
I grew up in Massachusetts with two younger brothers and a younger sister. My dad is a minister and that’s how I learned about a lot of the things I write about on SCL.

What do you like to do in your spare time? Hobbies?
I like to run when I have time. More than anything, I like to play and hang out with my wife and kids. I have two daughters, ages 6 and 4 and they are awesome.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?
Flight. Everyone wants to be superman.

What has God been teaching you lately?
Patience. He’s been teaching me about the slow build up of patience and how slowness is not a punishment.

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
In the 3rd grade I decided I wanted to be a writer.

Where are you headed next?
I’m going to Nashville, Houston and Dallas in the next few weeks.

On Writing…
How did you get involved in writing?
A teacher in the third grade laminated some poems I wrote and I fell in love with it then.

What was the most difficult aspect of the writing process?
Finishing a piece. Starting is so much easier.

What did you enjoy most about the writing process?
The brainstorming part.

How do you find time to write?
I get up at 5AM before anyone in my family is up.

What would you say to someone who wants to become a published author?
Pick a time to write and then do it. Don’t debate whether you will write each day, just write.

On Stuff Christians Like…
Where did you get the idea for the book?
There was a popular site called Stuff White People Like. I feel like it’s weird that we Christians always steal popular secular ideas like making “Got Milk?” say “Got God?” I thought it would be a good idea to discuss that problem by committing that problem.

What are the major themes of the book?
I try to clear the clutter of Christianity away so we can see the beauty of Christ.

What kind of research did you have to do for the book?
Writing the site gave me lots of things to talk about and write about.

What do you hope readers will take away from your book?
That they’ll know how fun and full of laughter a life of faith can be.

About the Book:

I LOVED this book. Seriously. I laughed so hard I cried and I cried because he also touched my heart.  I have always enjoyed Jon’s writing style and it translates very well to the book.  I also enjoyed the drawings and other fun things included.  If you enjoy the website and following Jon on twitter you will adore the book!

Sometimes, we fall in love on mission trips even though we know we’ll break up when we get back. Sometimes, you have to shot block a friend’s prayer because she’s asking God to bless an obviously bad dating relationship. Sometimes, you think, “I wish I had a t-shirt that said ‘I direct deposit my tithe’ so people wouldn’t judge me.”

Sometimes, the stuff that comes with faith is funny.

This is that stuff.

Jonathan Acuff’s Stuff Christians Like is your field guide to all things Christian. In it you’ll learn the culinary magic of the crock-pot. Think you’ve got a Metro worship leader-Use Acuff’s checklist. Want to avoid a prayer handholding faux pas? Acuff has you covered.

Like a satirical grenade, Acuff brings us the humor and honesty that galvanized more than a million online readers from more than 200 countries in a new portable version. Welcome to the funny side of faith.

Buy Stuff Christians Like
Visit Jon’s website, Stuff Christians Like
Follow Jon on Twitter
Visit other bloggers participating in the Stuff Christians Like Tour

***Contest***

As noted by popular blogger and author Jonathan Acuff, “sometimes the stuff that comes with faith is funny” . . .
. . . Like surviving church as a single adult.
. . . And knowing how metrosexual your worship leader is.
. . . And how serious, a serious Wednesday can be.

As a part of our social media tour promoting Jonathan’s release of Stuff Christians Like, we’re giving you the opportunity to share your favorite “stuff” Christians like. In 500 words or less, write your own version of Stuff Christians Like and you could be featured on Jonathan’s blog – which reaches over 120,000 readers each month and has been read by 1.4 million people since it began two years ago. Check out http://stuffchristianslike.net for examples and inspiration. Post your entry on your blog and link to it using Mr. Linky on our tour post below. Entires must be received by midnight, CST Friday, July 2. If you post your entry to Facebook or do not have a blog, you can email your submission to info (at) blogtourspot.com.

Link up your Stuff Christians Like post HERE!

Thank You Zondervan for providing a free copy of Stuff Christians Like to me for review.

1 Response to “Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff”


  1. 1 Amanda June 25, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Love him :) Can’t wait to read this book!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,798 fellow journeyers

