Pearl Girls: Encountering Grit, Experiencing Grace

**********CONGRATULATIONS Laurie!  You won the copy of Pearl Girls!**********

Pearl Girls is a unique book edited by Margaret McSweeny that includes short stories from women who have in encountering the grit in life discovered the beautiful power of Grace.  With stories from model Kathy Ireland, to authors like Robin Jones Gunn and Susan May Warren to regular women like Lori Kasbeer (you and me!) this book is a beautiful collection of heart wrenching yet hopful stories of life moments that we all face.   You will find a story in this book that touches your heart so deeply you will want to share your copy with others so they will know too that there are woman like them in this world!  From heartbreak to disappoint this book takes you to hard places….but it does not leave you there…it also talks of experiencing the beautiful grace of our Father.  Each of the stories are short and great when you have a little time to yourself.  If you want to be inspired I recommend you get a copy of Pearl Girls today!!

About The concept for the book, Pearl Girls:

With His love and grace, God covered the unexpected pain in my life of becoming an adult orphan and transformed this pain into a pearl. We are all Pearl Girls. Each of us has been touched by God’s gift of love and grace, and it’s a gift that I want to share with others. That’s why I am launching Pearl Girls.

Actually, my very first gift from my parents was a pearl. The gift of my name. Margaret means “precious pearl.” So perhaps this is what I was always supposed to do. My heart’s prayer is that Pearl Girls will be a blessing to others – to the women who contribute their literary talent to the Pearl Girls projects; to the readers who are inspired and comforted by the life experiences shared through these projects and to the women and children who will benefit from the proceeds given by Pearl Girls to various charities. This is a win-win for everyone, and each of us has a special part in making the Pearl Girls projects “blessed sellers.”

After the first Pearl Girls tea in Atlanta, I went to my brother, Claude’s home to help sort through our parents’ boxes in his basement. It was an emotional experience and tedious process to discover what was in each box, to decide what to do with each item and to discard those belongings which we needed to let go. After several long hours of sorting, I received an incredible hug from heaven – a confirmation that Pearl Girls is something that is meant to be. I discovered a three strand necklace of painted pearls belonging to my grandmother from the early 1900s! Isn’t that amazing?

Read an Excerpt of Pearl Girls.

It’s about Connecting Hearts and Souls to Impact the World.

100% of the royalties from Pearl Girls go directly to two charities:


WINGS (women in need growing stronger). The proceeds will help fund a Safe House in the Chicago suburbs. It costs $50 a night to provide safe shelter for a woman and her children. During this economy, WINGS is receiving even more phone calls for a safe place to stay. Already, the Pearl Girls have provided 60 nights with the advance royalties. www.wingsprogram.com

Hands of Hope. The proceeds will help build wells in Uganda for school children. Can you imagine a child at school without a water fountain in the hallway where he or she can grab a quick sip of water in between classes on a hot day? These children have to drink from puddles and other water sources which carry diseases and parasites.  It costs $12,000 to build a well in Uganda. Already, the Pearl Girls have provided funds to build ¼ of a wellwww.handsofhopeonline.org

Buy the book.

Watch a video about Pearl Girls

Visit Margaret McSweeny’s website.

Visit the Pearl Girls Blog.

Post your own Pearl.

Visit the other stops on the Pearl Girls Blog Tour!

Thank You, Litfuse Publicity, for providing my copy and the giveaway copy of Pearl Girls!

****GIVEAWAY**** (US and Canada)

I have one copy of Pearl Girls to giveaway!!   If you would like to win a copy of Pearl Girls just leave a comment on this post. Because of the busyness of the next two weeks I am going to leave this giveaway open until January 4, 2010 at midnight (EST)

Good Luck!

5 Responses to “Pearl Girls: Encountering Grit, Experiencing Grace”


  1. 1 Kristen December 19, 2009 at 3:03 am

    I don’t want to enter first because then I will lose. But I also don’t want to forget to enter. So I am taking my chances!

  2. 2 Melissa December 19, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I would love a copy of this book. :)

  3. 3 Laurie December 19, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    This seems like a wonderful book! I love to win this!! =)

  4. 4 Janet Ruth December 25, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    I would love to read this book, please add my name. Thanks!

  5. 5 Susan Wilkins January 3, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    Would love to read this book. I was very inspired by the review. Sounds like a great book to start off the new year with!
    Thanks for sharing!


Comments are currently closed.



Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,798 fellow journeyers

