Her Unlikely Family and His Forever Love by Missy Tippens

I love a good meaty book….but sometimes I want a good story and a short story.  That is why I love the Love Inspired Line!  You get a great story from wonderful authors with a satisfying ending.  I had the wonderful opportunity to have lunch with Missy and some others this past summer.  It was a wonderful experience and Missy is as genuine and authentic in person as you would think after reading her books and visiting her website.

Her Unlikely Family is Missy’s first book for LI.  I found it to be a unique and fun story with some great lessons. I enjoyed the setting of Gatlinburg Tennessee…what a fun place to set a book!  I found myself really enjoying Josie.  She is different but has a beautiful heart….and Michael…the strong tough single vision man reminded me of so many fellows in my life!  One of my favorite lessons of the book is to never judge a person by how they look or how they live.

His Forever Love has quickly become one of my favorite LI books.  As a Georgia girl I love that it was set in a small Georgia town…it was similar to the small town I live in.  One of my favorite characters in this book is Bill’s granny!  She is wise and a hoot at the same time.  I enjoyed reading the byplay of Lindsay and Bill…it was funny and heart wrenching at the same time.  One of the reasons this is a favorite is because I understood what was driving Bill so much.  Love and wanting the best for others…the way you see it…instead of seeking out the view points of those we care for!  This is a beautiful story of love and understanding….and learning!

About The Books:

Her Unlikely Family:

Take responsibility for his orphaned niece, yes. Raise her himself, no. A good boarding school was what the girl needed, not an uncle who was never home. But then Michael Throckmorton’s niece ran away. And the big-hearted, beautiful diner waitress who’d taken her in wasn’t letting her go so easily. Josie Miller had a few conditions for Michael. Oddly enough, he was willing to listen. Yet days later, why wasn’t he hauling the teen back to school and himself back to the city? Could it be that an unlikely family was forming?

His Forever Love:

In Magnolia, Georgia, local legend says that a couple who holds hands around the “forever” tree will have an unending love. Even so, Bill Wellington held Lindsay Jones’s hands around that tree years ago…and then left her behind. He chose the big city, and now he wants to bring his grandmother there. But to his amazement, he finds that Granny has a boyfriend–and a vibrant life. A life that includes Lindsay, Granny’s caregiver. Bill never thought he’d want to come home, yet Magnolia clearly has its charms. As does Lindsay, who makes him long for a second chance at forever love.


About The Author:

Born and raised in Kentucky, Missy met her very own hero when she headed to grad school in Atlanta, Georgia. She promptly fell in love and hasn’t left Georgia since. She and her pastor husband have been married twenty-plus years now and have been blessed with three wonderful children. Missy is an award-winning writer and, after ten years of pursuing her dream, she made her first sale to Steeple Hill Love Inspired in 2007. She still pinches herself to see if it really happened!

For more information on Missy and her books visit her website!

Tomorrow I will be introducing you to Missy’s newest book, A Forever Christmas!

2 Responses to “Her Unlikely Family and His Forever Love by Missy Tippens”


  1. 1 Emmanuelle November 23, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Thank you for your post. I’ve only “discovered” Missy and her books a few weeks ago and already put His Forever Love on my TBR list.
    I love books set in american small towns. To me (french girl that I am) it’s both exotic and endearing.
    I can’t wait to read tomorrow’s post ;-)

  2. 2 Missy Tippens November 23, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Christy, thank you so much for your wonderful summaries of the stories! I always love to see how God uses stories to touch people in different ways. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Emmanuelle, thank you for adding my book to your TBR list! And how cool that my small town is exotic to you. :) That’s so fun. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,774 fellow journeyers

