A Passion Denied by Julie Lessman

My bloggy Friends…. I am SO excited to share with you today about one of my most favorite Authors, Julie Lessman, and her book A Passion Denied (my most favorite book this year!)

About the Book:

Has she fallen in love with a man who cannot love her back?

Lessman_final Redeemed low res.jpgElizabeth O’Connor has been like the little sister John Brady always wanted, sharing his love of literature and his thirst for God. But in the throes of the reckless Roaring Twenties, Lizzie has grown up. Suddenly she wants more from the man who has been her friend since she was a child. When this shy little bookworm blossoms into a beautiful young woman bent on loving John, she discovers that his past won’t let him return that love. But Lizzie refuses to give up–until his shocking secrets push her away.

Can true love survive the betrayal and deceitful of a painful past . . . or will it be shattered like the fairy-tale dreams of a girl in love?

Brimming with romance, longing, and redemption, A Passion Denied, will quicken your pulse and gladden your heart with a riveting story of the true power of love.

About the Author:

Julie-Lessman-2-1.jpgJulie Lessman is a debut author who has already garnered writing acclaim, including ten Romance Writers of America awards. She is a commercial writer for Maritz Travel, a published poet and a Golden Heart Finalist. Julie has a heart to write “Mainstream Inspirational,” reaching the 21st-century woman with compelling love stories laced with God’s precepts. She resides in Missouri with her husband and their golden retriever, and has two grown children and a daughter-in-law.  A Passion Most Pure is her first novel. (she has also published A Passion Redeemed, and A Passion Denied)

What I thought:

Lizzie O’Connor is infatuated with John Brady.  She knows it is love, but alas he thinks of her as a sister….or does he?

Sigh.  I am going to have to tell y’all right off Julie knows how to tell a story.  As I closed the book with tears streaming down my face I just smiled.  To be honest I have been long waiting for the book.  I have loved Elizabeth from book one, A Passion Most Pure.  She reminds me so much of me!  A believer in true love, fairy tales, and a lover of books.  She is a dreamer.  And with the introduction of John Brady in book two…well I wanted to meet that fellow in real life :)  He is handsome, and hardworking, and just a good guy.

Not only do you get Elizabeth’s story and John’s story in A Passion Denied but you once again get to catch up with the O’Connor clan.  You get to see into the marriages of Faith and Collin, and Charity and Mitch.  And you get to see the family dynamics between the sisters.  And of course we get to learn more about Marcy and Patrick.   One of my favorite things about the Daughter’s of Boston series has been the characters.  All of them!  I am a series kind of girl.  I love getting to know all of the family characters and enjoy getting the glimpses into their lives.  Julie does a fabulous job of weaving together not only the main character’s stories but the back story of the family.  You get a real idea of family dynamics in the Daughter’s of Boston series, you get to see how sibling rivalry can affect relationships, or what happens when there is tension between the parents or you get to see how sometimes marriage problems can lead to intimacy problems.  Nothing is glossed over but it is dealt with, even if it may be painful.  I loved the introduction of a new character, Cluny.  His scenes in the book made me laugh and made me cry.  He represents so many of us, looking and longing for love.  If you cannot tell by now, A Passion Denied is my favorite book this year. :)

In A Passion Denied we get to see how we can let our past destroy us, if we let it.  John Brady has a past that most people would regret.  In fact I cringed at times and my heart hurt thinking of how wounded he was.  Julie does an amazing job of creating tension.  Real life tension.  As I was reading I realized how much I am so like the characters in the book.  I know things in my head but often I don’t transfer them to my heart.  I know God forgives but sometimes I forget to forgive myself.

The reason I connect with Julie’s books so much is this simple fact, she creates a wonderful world of romance and passion with the powerful message of the goodness and grace of our God.  My Friends this is why I recommend her to so many people.  Well that and she is one of my most favorite people :)

I personally cannot wait for 2010 to get here so we can finally read Katie’s story….she is a spitfire and I am sure her story is going to be a crazy ride!

A GIVEAWAY!!!

So because I love Julie’s books (and her!) I am going to give away one of the books in the Daughter’s of Boston Series.  So if you have not had a chance to start the series, or a chance to finish the series…here is your chance!

Just leave a comment on this post and you will be entered in the giveaway…

and if you Twitter about the contest (with the url to this page) you can get an extra entry…just come back here and comment again with your twitter name and you will have TWO entries!

The giveaway is open until Friday, May 29 at midnight. (giveaway is open to residents of the US and Canada)

I will then use random.org to choose a winner and email them the good news :)

Good Luck!

31 Responses to “A Passion Denied by Julie Lessman”


  1. 1 Kristen May 22, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Enter me please! Jennifer is actually sending me a copy she has of the second book, so I would love to start out the series on the right foot!

    I didn’t even know it WAS a series!

  2. 2 Maria D. May 22, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Sounds great Christy!

    I have never read this author so it sounds like fun!

  3. 3 Maria D. May 22, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    I tweeted!

    Mariakins

  4. 4 christyklein May 22, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I’ve never read one of Julie Lessman’s books but sounds right up my alley! Please enter me… thanks, Christy!

    P.S. I didn’t know you had a book blog! How did I miss this information??

  5. 5 christyklein May 22, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    I tweeted the link! :-)

  6. 6 Julie Lessman May 22, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    CHRISTY!!!!!!!!! WOW, what a review — thank you SO much for your kind words and offering a giveaway. I would be THRILLED to send a signed copy of any one of the books in this series to the winner (winner’s choice).

    KRISTEN … thank YOU for reading my books, and entering the contest — good luck!

    MARIA D … well, then we definitely need to get a book in your hands, I’d say. And if you don’t win it on Christy’s blog, please check my website calendar because I am giving away TONS of signed copies (as well as a writer’s critique), so check it out. And thanks for “tweetin'”!

    CHRISTYKLEIN … Oh, I HOPE these books are “right up your alley,” girl! Good luck in the contest and thanks for “tweetin'”!

    Hugs,
    Julie

  7. 7 Chère May 22, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I’ve never even HEARD of this author!! She sounds *right* up my alley :) Enter me please!
    These kinds of books are my guilty pleasure. I hide them on the shelf below the casebooks and books with titles like “morality and contemporary warfare” ;)

  8. 8 rebornbutterfly May 22, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    LOVE to win one of the first two… Since i have this one!

  9. 9 Julie Lessman May 22, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    CHERE … “guilty pleasure,” eh? Well, I don’t know how much guilt will be involved in the reading of my books (unless you shrug off work to read them), but I hope and pray you will discover lots of pleasure reading about a very passionate family who are as passionate about God as they are for each other! :)

    REBORNBUTTERFLY … if you don’t win a book with all the posting you are doing on my blog reviews/interviews, it will be a crime. :) THANK YOU!

  10. 10 Chère May 23, 2009 at 4:36 am

    Julie – the guilt only stems from reading something other than casebooks :)

  11. 11 Carlene May 23, 2009 at 8:27 am

    The book sounds great, please include me in your giveaway.

    Thanks
    Carlene
    iluvreading(at)verizon.net

  12. 12 CarolynnW May 23, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Loved reading your review…I want to read book #3 so badly! Thanks so much for the chance to win!

  13. 13 Amy @ My Friend Amy May 23, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Great review, great book! Don’t enter me! :)

  14. 14 Amber Stokes May 23, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I would love a chance to win the third book in the series! I just finished A Passion Most Pure last night, and it was amazing! I spent quite a bit of the day reading because it was so hard to put down with all the emotional tension! Thanks again!

    –Border’s Girl

  15. 15 Julie Lessman May 24, 2009 at 8:09 am

    CHERE … well, that’s good, because it sounds like I could effectively compete with “casebooks” … uh, I hope! :)

    CARLENE … thanks for stopping by, and good luck in the contest!

    CAROLYNN … and, girl, I really WANT you to read book three “so badly,” so we are in sync!! :)

    AMY!!!!!!!! So nice to see you here — thanks SO much for a wonderful week at your blog, my friend!

    B.G. … Thank you for ALL of your support on the blog giveaways, and Redeemed is coming your way, hopefully Tuesday, I guess, since Monday is a holiday … I forgot! :)

    Hugs,
    Julie

  16. 16 Lethea Benson May 24, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    I have never read any of these books but I do think I would enjoy them!
    I would start with book 1, of course=)

    Luvdaylilies at bellsouth dot net

  17. 17 Julie Lessman May 24, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    LETHEA, well, goodness, we are just going to have to correct that, my friend, so thank you for leaving a comment and entering the contest! You can up your chances, however, by checking my website calendar at http://www.julielessman.com and clicking on Julie’s Calendar — I am giving away tons of free signed copies of my books on various blogs. Good luck!

    Hugs,
    Julie

  18. 18 Jessica May 25, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    Enter me please! I can’t wait to read Elizabeth’s story, for the same reasons you cited. Julie really has a knack for creating a page-turning story. Thanks for entering me!

    jessica_nelson7590 (at)yahoo (dot) com

  19. 19 Julie Lessman May 25, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    LETHEA, good girl, or starting with book 1, that is!! All my browbeating about reading this series in order must have paid off … :)
    Thanks for your comment.

    JESSICA … gosh, girl, you really need to win one of these books, and you are definitely going about it in the right way — thank you for your support!

    Hugs,
    Julie

  20. 20 Joye May 25, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Oh my, from one bookworm to another– I would love this book! I’m always looking for new authors to love!


Comments are currently closed.



Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,782 fellow journeyers

