The One about Trafficking

My sweet friend Becky and I had a girls day out on Saturday…it was such fun…we had manicures and pedicures, went to our favorite store-Target, had a yummy lunch at Outback and then we saw this movie:

I was so unprepared. My head is still messed up. Because THIS. REALLY. HAPPENS.

I sat for most of the movie with my hand over my mouth and my heart in my stomach.

And a came out with a resolve to find out more about human trafficking. After just a few minutes on the internet I found these mind blowing statistics…

some facts:

–Sex trafficking is a modern form of slavery.
–As many as 10 MILLION people are victims of human trafficking.
–Victims include men and women, boys and girls. 80% of the victims are women and girls.
–Traffickers use psychological and physical coercion as well as bondage on their victims.
–Human trafficking is the world’s third largest criminal enterprise, after drugs and weapons.
–The total market value of illicit human trafficking is estimated to be in excess of $32 billion.

And during my research I found three great resources…
The Home Foundation, Shared Hope International, and International Justice Mission.

I am not sure where to go from here. I do know I will be doing more research and probably finding a way that I can help…money or volunteering. I do know that I am praying and will continue to pray. All I know is that I not only want to do something but I need to do something. Something shifted inside me Saturday and I cannot ignore it…

I find myself remembering a line from the movie…one of the men said “it’s not personal, it’s just business”

And my heart breaks at the thought of humans being sold and bought by other humans as “just business”

I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me. –Matthew 25:45

4 Responses to “The One about Trafficking”


  1. 1 David March 9, 2009 at 2:22 am

    I’ve not seen the movie yet, but it is such a horrendous thing.

    For another resource, check out The A21 Campaign, which Christine Caine of Hillsong pioneered after being horrified by the situation in Greece (she’s 1st generation Greek Australian). She shared about it at Hillsong Conf last year, and both Diane and I were sick to the stomach.

    Let’s be part of the solution; it’s much easier than we think when we come together.

    This is a great post Christy, thank you!

  2. 2 Elyse Kuriata March 9, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Hello Christy,

    My name is Elyse and I work as an intern at International Justice Mission. I’m so encouraged to hear that you are looking into ways of fighting human trafficking. If you are ever in the Washington, D.C. area you might be interested in IJM’s internship or volunteer programs – or just visiting us at the office. Feel free to email me or visit IJM’s web site to find out more ways you can get involved. We appreciate your support!

  3. 3 Kristen March 9, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    A while ago I started supporting ministries that work to stop human trafficking. I saw Taken a few weeks ago and am still not over it. It really spoke to me and struck a nerve.

    Intense but needed viewing.

  4. 4 christyklein March 9, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Astounding statistics, Christy.
    I haven’t seen the movie yet, but plan to soon… especially now.
    Let me know if there is an volunteering I can do from here.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,782 fellow journeyers

