The one about what if….

So I watched about 3/4’s of the Oscars last night…why 3/4? Because the Amazing Race was on and that comes before anything else my friends :)

I tuned in and out as I worked on some other things but I thought it was a fascinating night….but something was heavy in my spirit…

It might have been the political speeches instead of the thank yous….or it could have been the protestors outside….. (Kristen has some great thoughts on this by the way…)

I went to bed with a heavy heart…and I lay there for hours trying to figure out what was wrong….what was bothering me?

It finally occured to me what it was. I am different.

Last year God began changing my heart…in big ways…about the world we live in.

I started sponsoring Catherine and then God began to work on my world view…yes I have always been devastated by the plight of others but now, now it is different because I know I can do something…even if at times it is not enough…

And that was what was heavy on my heart…

If you think about the Oscars…all the pretty, yet expensive dresses, the jewelry, the expensive before and after parties…then you look at the extravagance of the set…

My mind went to the What if’s…

What if instead of having a night of honoring themselves they honored all the others who made a difference….teacher’s, nurses, and doctors come to mind.

What if instead of a glamourous dress they wore jeans and donated the money to a charity to help get water to those who need it…

What if instead of spending money on a statue that bought mosquitos nets for malaria instead…

What if I instead of watching the Oscars spent my time helping someone else in need, or encouraging someone else.

What if instead of eating out I use that money to help give others clean water, or a mosquito net.

The what if’s are endless, for me and for them….

And I get it now…my heart, my mind….they are no longer a part of this world.. I long for something more.

Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul. –1 Peter 2:11

I am longing for heaven more and more…

Which is quite odd seeing as for many years I begged God not to send Jesus yet as I had so much living to do :)

And in those years I would have enjoyed the opulence of all that is the Oscars and spent days mulling over the best and worst dress list and wishing I could be one of them…

No longer.

Now I long for something more, something this world can not give me.

I long to be with HIM.

(update on my bloggy break in my sticky post at the top!)

2 Responses to “The one about what if….”


  1. 1 Andrea February 23, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    I totally get what you’re saying – lately I’ve been so weary of all the things that seem to consume our lives. And you’re right – there are so many better things we can be doing with our time and energy and money. I, for one, am convicted!

  2. 2 Kristen @ {dancing} in the margins February 24, 2009 at 12:53 am

    Isn’t this the truth! I said to Eric last night, “Why do we let Hollywood stroke their egos with all of these awards? Isn’t it enough they get paid millions and demand ridiculous things already?”

    I am so with and like Andrea, stand convicted.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,774 fellow journeyers

