The one with Compassion.

Last year at this time I was staying up late every night devouring the words of bloggers who were on the trip of a lifetime. I found some new blogs to follow but more importantly I found a small piece of my heart.

I also learned that Valentine’s Day is more than just a day to bemoan my single status. It was a day to celebrate the most glorious thing in the world. LOVE. Not just romantic love but the love we have for one another, friends, family, and a little girl who in just a photo stole a small piece of my heart.

It reminds me of a time in Jesus ministry where He is talking about remaining and abiding in Him. John 15. And as I read the passage these verses made an impact.

As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.
–John 15:10-12

Jesus actually repeats the phrase “Love each other” in the passage twice. (He says it in verse 17 too) I find that when one repeats something it is pretty important. In order to love one another we have to remain in Him. Without Him love, true love, is just not possible. I don’t think we can even begin to grasp the concept until we experience the Love He gives us.

He let’s us experience that love in different ways. In the past year I have experienced a different love by sponsoring my Catherine.

In the last year I have received several letters from Catherine. It is the best part of my week or even my month when those letters come. She tells me she is praying for me and she draws the most precious pictures…usually of things she likes or that are around her. I smile just thinking about those pictures.

As I wrote my letter tonight to Catherine I was overwhelmed with love for her…and for our God. Only He could orchestrate such a beautiful, yet unconventional, relationship. I am so glad he placed the vision of Compassion International in Reverend Everett Swanson’s heart…and while it has grown and changed I am so thankful (and blessed) with the opportunity they have given me to help a child.

Our God is so creative!

But more importantly our God is LOVE.

If you do not know about Compassion a great place to learn more about the organization is to read their FAQ.

5 Responses to “The one with Compassion.”


  1. 1 Michelle February 14, 2009 at 2:50 am

    Christy, I find that exact same thing with teaching children and Valentines. It just becomes a day about love, which could never be a bad thing. There are so many different types of love to celebrate.
    I hope your have a very happy Valentines Day!

  2. 2 David (dg4G) February 14, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Compassion kids are amazing, the hope in their letters never fails to amaze me…and those letters usually arrive on a day when I need to lifted. It’s humbling how often that comes from a child who we in the west think is in so much need. Love is all that matters – as the multitude of songs have said :)

    (PS…Cake Wrecks is a great source of hilarity for my wife and I…tears from so much laughter is a regular occurrence)

  3. 3 Juli Jarvis February 14, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Wonderful post! You are absolutely right about those letters we get from our Compassion children!


  1. 1 A World of Difference « Jesus and Compassion Trackback on February 14, 2009 at 2:07 pm
  2. 2 The one about what if…. « Critty Joy Trackback on February 23, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,774 fellow journeyers

