The one with the quandary

According to the dictionary:

Quandary- a state of perplexity or uncertainty, esp. as to what to do; dilemma.

discombobulate- to confuse or disconcert; upset; frustrate

this is where I am right now….

I don’t think I have ever felt so uncertain about things in my life…funny thing is I am quite okay with it for now. While the feelings I am having are confusing at best I knew this year was going to be a year of journey for me.

Why am I feeling this way? Well…

I love my job, I do. I love working with the teens and encouraging them and planting seeds in their lives. I want more. I love grad school and my classes but at the same time I am realizing that I do not like the strings that come attached to being an LPC or MAMFT. I just want to love the teens and encourage them. I am not sure where this is going to go I just know I am very unsettled and wondering what doors are going to be opening and closing….

Then there is the photography thing…I love it. I am so blown away by how much I love it…and what God is letting me do with it. WFW is one of my favorite things I do each week. And I love capturing images of beautiful things. And people! I think about how much fun I have had with it and I just smile…but at the same time some where along the way I have let my passion for it slip…I have not taken a photo this year… why is that? I still have the passion for it and I see something everyday and I think, “wow that would be an amazing photo”…and then I move on…

Then there is the writing thing…I love it too. When I wrote about my hopes earlier this year I forgot I wanted to write more. In December I felt the nudge to make this blog more than it was. I felt I should start writing at least three times a week in addtion to my book postings and Word Filled Wednesdays. And I have not had a problem having things to write this January…it is like God lays it on my heart and I write it. And I have other opportunites to share my writing…I will be doing an article for Exemplify in April which I am so, so excited about. And I think there will be other opportunities this year…I know he is opening a door here…

I am so excited about this creative side of me being opened up. I remember loving to write in middle school and high school (I was a writing nerd and scored a perfect score on the state writing test!) and some how I let that go. And I am doing the same thing with photography…letting it slip away.

I must grab a hold of these passions and keep them close to my heart… and not let them slip away… I long to be creative.

And yet in each of these things something is missing. I don’t know what yet but I am sure this journey I am on will get me to that place.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”
Jeremiah 29:11-14

So this journey… I am so glad He is leading the way…

Even though I have no idea where it is leading or what I may end up doing. I am learning to trust Him in a new way, a bigger way. And trusting if I fall He will catch me and we will start the journey again.

His Beloved,

3 Responses to “The one with the quandary”


  1. 1 Kristen January 22, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    How exciting! (And scary too, I’m sure!) The One who has called you is faithful and He. Will. Do. It.

    Whatever “it” may be!

    <3, Kristen

  2. 2 Andrea January 23, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    That’s awesome! I can relate over the willfulness thing – its definitely hard to overcome, but so worth it!


  1. 1 The One about Nashville « Critty Joy Trackback on January 23, 2009 at 8:49 am

Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,769 fellow journeyers

