Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday

faith_fiction2

Amy has a very interesting question this weekend…

With the presidential inauguration coming up this week, I thought it would be fun to talk about our favorite fictional politicians. Even though we generally talk about books, feel free to expand your answer to include movies and television shows. Why do you like this fictional leader? What qualities do they possess that you wish our real politicians possessed?

On the flip side, who is the worst fictional politician you’ve read about (or seen on TV) What makes them so bad?

And here in lies the problem…my answers are the same as Amy’s. You see I have a slight obsession with the show 24…

And I agree with her….the best presidental type figure I have ever seen on television or in a book is David Palmer on 24. The man was a great idealist and wanted what was best for this country. He reacted to situations well and handled the office with integrity. I will say that I am liking President Allison Taylor this season. I like how they are dealing with the aspect of a woman president. She seems to be a strong woman who can think for herself and I hope they continue to portray her in this way.

I know Amy said “political” but I do have a great leader in mind…

And he is a book character… Aslan from The Chronicles of Narnia. He loved the Narnian’s and sacrificed Himself for Edmund out of love. Of course he is a type of Christ in the books but in the books and movies any scene He as in was one of my favorites.

As for the worst…I agree with Amy again (see that 24 obsession is a problem!!) Charles Logan was a stinky stinky president and vice president. And what he did to his wife and to the country was horrid. And when he came back to “help” you just don’t want to know what I said. He was a terrorist and hurt so many people, and he was a big ole coward. (I have some strong feeling about this show eh?)

And of course I could add the White Witch from Chronicles of Narnia here. She did not love anyone but herself and was the epitome of all I loathe in a character. C.S. Lewis did a wonderful job of making me dislike her :)

So there you have it…and if you are not obsessed with 24 YOU should be…haha!

Go visit Amy for more Faith ‘n Fiction fun.

3 Responses to “Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday”


  1. 1 Marvin D Wilson January 17, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Well that’s TWO votes for 24 today already! (smile). Enjoyed your take and answers. Mine are up at Free Spirit blog-

    http://tinyurl.com/72obo4

  2. 2 bluestockingbb January 17, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Hee hee hee. I had a 24 in my answer. Here is mine Fictional Leaders

  3. 3 Amy January 17, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Oh, I totally agree with you with Aslan and the White Witch. I haven’t watched 24 much though so I don’t know about those two.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,751 fellow journeyers

