Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday

faith_fiction2

It is time for Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday hosted by the lovely Amy.

Today’s question is:

There are a lot of great new books being published in 2009! But which ones are you the most excited about? Please pick some Christian fiction books you are excited to read this year and tell us all about them! But just to give this a little twist…be sure to visit everyone else’s posts and find some books you might be interested in reading as well that are different from your picks! It will come in handy for a fun bonus question next week!

It looks like there are some great books coming out this year.

The book I am most looking forward too is… by the wonderful Julie Lessman of course. The third book in her Daughter’s of Boston series is coming out in May and I cannot wait! Not only are her books great but Julie herself is a terrific person.

lessman_final-redeemed-low-res Elizabeth O’Connor is the little sister John always longed for. With a fire for God in his belly, he has been her spiritual mentor since she was thirteen, sharing her love of literature and her thirst for God. But when his gangly protégé blossoms into a beautiful young woman bent on loving him, he refuses to act on the attraction he feels. His past won’t let him go there. Unfortunately, “Lizzie” won’t let him go anywhere else … until his dark and shocking secrets push her away.

 

 

 

I love Susan May Warren’s books and I am looking forward to her brand new series!

51v6whwbwhl_sl500_aa240_It’s not fair to say that trouble happens every time PJ Sugar is around, but it feels that way when she returns to her hometown, looking for a fresh start. Within a week, her former teacher is murdered and her best friend’s husband is arrested as the number-one suspect. Although the police detective investigating the murder–who also happens to be PJ’s former flame–is convinced it’s an open-and-shut case, PJ’s not so sure. She begins digging for clues in an effort to clear her friend’s husband and ends up reigniting old passions, uncovering an international conspiracy, and solving a murder along the way. She also discovers that maybe God can use a woman who never seems to get it right.

 

I am also a fan of Beth White’s and this looks like an interesting read…

tourdeforceGilly has grown up to become a rising star in one of the premier NYC ballet companies. However, when she comes back to Alabama to dance the role of the Sugar Plum Fairy in The Nutcracker, she finds herself intrigued by the Birmingham company’s handsome young director, Jacob Ferrar. Gilly and Jacob have to wrestle with ordering priorities in the Christian life: where do building a relationship, pursuing artistic dreams, and serving God fit into the mix?

 

 

I am a long time fan of Lori Wick and was excited to see this book coming out this year.

51km7ehj3jl_sl500_aa240_This story is set against the landscape of a contemporary American family farm—Chestnut Valley Farm. Here, young and old work together—and in between chores done in the chill of dawn and in the heat of the hazy afternoon, they find times of laughter and fellowship.
Ultimately, Chestnut Valley Farm is a place to grow and a place where the seeds of hope turn into a harvest of dreams. And for one special season, it’s the perfect place to fall in love.

 

 

 

I am really looking forward to this book, it looks fascinating and feel that I will totally relate to it :)


410j0ivekol_sl500_aa240_Jessie Stone has spent thirty-five years fantasizing about marriage proposals, wedding dresses, and falling in love. She’s been a bridesmaid eleven times, waved dozens of couples off to sunny honeymoons, and shopped in more department stores for half-price fondue pots than she cares to remember. But her own love life hasn’t been quite as productive. The man she thought she would marry cheated on her. The crush she has on her best friend Blake is at very best…well, crushing. And speed dating has only churned out memorable horror stories.

So when God shows up one day, in the flesh, and becomes a walking, talking part of her life, Jessie is skeptical. After all, He hasn’t stood at countless reception tables alone. What will it take to convince her that God has a better love story than one of the thousands she’s cooked up in her journals?

 

I am currently reading Kiss by Ted Dekker and cannot wait for this one in April… this one looks finger nail bitting good!


51engssnfjl_sl500_aa240_They call him BoneMan, a serial killer who’s abducted six young women. He’s the perfect father looking for the perfect daughter, and when his victims fail to meet his lefty expectations, he kills them by breaking their bones and leaving them to die. Intelligence officer Ryan Evans, on the other hand, has lost all hope of ever being the perfect father. His daughter and wife have written him out of their lives.

Everything changes when BoneMan takes Ryan’s estranged daughter, Bethany, as his seventh victim. Ryan goes after BoneMan on his own.

But the FBI sees the case differently. New evidence points to Ryan being BoneMan. Now the hunter is the hunted and in the end only one father will stand.

I am also very hopeful that Robin Jones Gunn will release her third book in the Katie Weldon series later this year :)

So there you have some of my picks for the year…but there are oh so many books coming out and I cannot wait for what is going to be a great year in fiction!

For more Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday go visit Amy!

13 Responses to “Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday”


  1. 1 Amy @ My Friend Amy January 10, 2009 at 2:35 am

    You picked some good ones!! I’m also really looking forward to Susan May Warren’s newest…she can’t write fast enough for me! I’ve never read anything by Beth White, but I really like that cover. Never the Bride looks great too. I’m reading Kiss right now, too!

  2. 2 Deborah January 10, 2009 at 2:38 am

    yep the Beth White one and the Rene Gutteridge and Ted Dekker and Julie Lessman and the Susan May Warren are all on my WL too. 2009 is gonna be a good year :0

  3. 3 Lindsey@A Kindred Spirit's Thoughts January 10, 2009 at 3:07 am

    Oh SWEET! I didn’t realize Lori Wick had another one coming out! :-) I’m a longtime fan as well. :-)

    You did pick some good ones! I’m looking forward to Ted Dekker’s book too. I’m reading Kiss right now (Ted Dekker and Erin Healy) and it is SO good. I’m gonna be reviewing it soon. :-)

    The first three are authors I’ve never read! Guess I’d better get to work. :-) (Not that I’m implying reading is work – it’s FUN)

  4. 4 Brittanie January 10, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I am looking forward to the new Elizabeth White book too. I loved Off the Record. Never the Bride looks interesting. It is on my Amazon Wish List.

  5. 5 Bluestocking January 10, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Ooh that one by Ted Dekker looks really good! I’ll have to check that out. My post is up!

    Anticipated Reads

  6. 6 Nise' January 10, 2009 at 11:51 am

    You have a couple that I need to add to my list. Looks like a few of us are looking forward to A Passion Denied.

  7. 7 Mimi B January 10, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    I love SMW! Can’t believe I forgot this series! I’ve never read Beth White. A new author, fun! I also love Lori Wick. I don’t know that I’ll be checking out Dekker’s book. I enjoy my sleep!

    ~Mimi B

  8. 8 blbooks January 10, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    That Beth White book looks great. :) I’ll have to make a note of that one!

  9. 9 Kim January 10, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I was reading about Boneman’s Daughter on his website/blog the other day, and I didn’t realize this is his first “non-Christian” publication. Should be interesting.

  10. 10 Andi January 10, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I too am looking forward to Boneman’s Daughter. And we both chose Julie Lessman’s final installment of the Daughter’s of Boston series. Lori Wicks book looks good too!

  11. 11 Jenny January 11, 2009 at 2:28 am

    Great list! I am definitely looking forward to ‘Never the Bride’ and ‘Nothing But Trouble’.

    Happy reading!

  12. 12 Kristina January 12, 2009 at 11:42 am

    I love Ted Dekker!! Thanks for the head’s up on the new book!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,769 fellow journeyers

