The Day After

December 26.
Bah Humbug!

I dislike the day after Christmas. There is such anticipation building up to Christmas….from the day after Thankgiving until Christmas Day we are overwhelmed with Christmas…movies, music, lights, decorations…stuff I love.

And then at midnight…no more movies, no more music, most people turn off their lights and start taking down their decorations until next year.

All that excitement and in one day…it’s gone until next year.

And yet I do it again and again every year… and I look forward to it!

I am not a fan of anticipation sometimes…because sometimes anticipation can come with disappointment.

It reminds me of my relationship with Christ sometimes. I pray and ask Him for something…sometimes something small and sometimes something I know He may say no, or even wait for.

And I let the anticipation build….I mean He is God right and He loves me and wants me happy…so of course He is going to give me what I want….Right?

And then the answer comes and I don’t like it. At all.

So I stop praying some and I may skip my time with Him…and slowly my relationship with Him starts to deteriorate.

I realized my pattern earlier this year and thought…Wow when did God become my wish granter instead of my Father who loves me.

I am not one to ask for something from God very often…I would just rather be thankful than request something. But when I did ask for something I expected God to cater to my whims.

So over the last few months I have had to change my prayer life. Umm wow is that hard. I get set in my ways and don’t want to change them.

But I have. I only want what He has for me. And I also have realized it is not about happiness but about contentedness. He has plans for me, wonderful plans, and I kept getting in the way.

Now I want His best as my best.

I, no We, are working on this, together. Just as it should be in a relationship.

And I must say… that relationship? It is getting sweeter every day.

So while I may be disappointed today it once again reminds me of how things could be and how they are now.

And I rejoice in knowing He is changing me….one day at a time.

7 Responses to “The Day After”


  1. 1 Maria D. December 27, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Yeah, the day after Christmas is so anticlimactic. It makes me sad.

  2. 2 Kristina December 30, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I couldn’t have said this better. I really need to work on my relationship with Him too…..do I hear a NY’s resolution??

  3. 3 Alexis December 31, 2008 at 4:34 am

    Great post! I am inspired to work on my prayer life. Have a happy new year!

  4. 4 Amydeanne December 31, 2008 at 11:42 am

    oh this is gorgeous Christy! Praying for 2009 to be a wonderful year for you!

  5. 5 Speaking from the Heart December 31, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I love the sunset and the verse. I am going to make it a point to memorize this verse for the first week of January.

  6. 6 Joyfull January 1, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Beautiful picture and a wonderful verse to begin a new year with. Thank you for sharing.

  7. 7 Sue January 4, 2009 at 1:34 am

    I want to learn how to write on my pics like you did on yours. It’s beautiful, as is the Scripture on it.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,761 fellow journeyers

