Word Filled Wednesday

wfw-30

I have spent much of this Christmas season thinking about the different people involved in the Christmas story. I often wonder about Joseph…I mean he does not appear very often after the birth of Jesus. He sure had a shock! As if it was not enough that his intended was pregnant (and a virgin!) with their Savior, but he also has a visit by the angel and must journey to Bethlehem for the census…talk about some stress!

One of my favorite Christmas songs is Joseph’s Lullaby….it is just such a neat perspective on Joseph and maybe how he felt about the newborn baby Jesus…

Go to sleep my Son
This manger for your bed
You have a long road before You
Rest Your little head

Can You feel the weight of Your glory?
Do You understand the price?
Does the Father guard Your heart for now
So You can sleep tonight?

Go to sleep my Son
Go and chase Your dreams
This world can wait for one more moment
Go and sleep in peace

I believe the glory of Heaven
Is lying in my arms tonight
Lord, I ask that He for just this moment
Simply be my child

Go to sleep my Son
Baby, close Your eyes
Soon enough You’ll save the day
But for now, dear Child of mine
Oh my Jesus, Sleep tight

-MercyMe

Oh how he must have felt holding God in the flesh.

For more Word Filled Wednesday goodness go visit the delightful Amy Deanne.

Blessings,

14 Responses to “Word Filled Wednesday”


  1. 1 Denise December 10, 2008 at 1:26 am

    This is really beautiful.

  2. 2 Michele December 10, 2008 at 2:04 am

    I’ve never heard this before… this is beautiful. Thank you for sharing. Blessings////

  3. 3 micey December 10, 2008 at 5:03 am

    I always wonder about Joseph too…

  4. 4 Joan December 10, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Thanks for sharing. Just thinking about my own children when they were born, how much more overwhelming to be holding the Christ child.

    Keeping Christ in Christmas
    Blessings

  5. 5 Tammy December 10, 2008 at 7:27 am

    I like that song too. I have also wondered about Joseph and what he must have felt etc. I think he must have been a pretty amazing man.

  6. 6 Laurie Ann December 10, 2008 at 8:10 am

    I think about Joseph alot. Jesus loved him. I wonder how long He lived after Jesus was born? I know Jesus had siblings. Hmmm…..Great picture and Scripture! I love it. Happy WFW!

  7. 7 Mimi December 10, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Great pic, verse & I LOVE that song! Have a great WFW!

  8. 8 Deanna December 10, 2008 at 9:00 am

    When I picture Joseph I picture my husband.

  9. 9 Jen December 10, 2008 at 9:14 am

    I always think of Joseph, what he must of been thinking when he found out Mary was with Child. What faith he had!! Great post.

  10. 10 Ellen December 10, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Good morning Christy! It really is amazing to think of all involved in the events around Christ’s birth and life. They were just humans like us and what an amazing thing they witnessed and lived through. Hard to imagine…

  11. 11 Jill December 10, 2008 at 11:42 am

    That is simply divine! Beautiful!

    Blessings to you and your family!
    Jill

  12. 12 Melanie December 10, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Wow… so beautiful!

    Happy WFW!

  13. 13 Brandy December 11, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Thanks for the snow, I live on a tropical island and sometimes it’s hard to get into the “Spirit of Christmas” but its just like home!!!

  14. 14 Amydeanne December 11, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    great post Christy, it’s amazing to think about the whole story isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,798 fellow journeyers

