The one in which she is a Nurse…

I love Friends…and I love how they titled there episodes…so there you have a homage to the beloved show.

I am not sure I ever mentioned to my bloggy friends that my Mom was having surgery a few weeks ago…the Monday before Thanksgiving in fact. It went well but for the last two weeks she has not been able to do anything…except sleep, eat, sit, and go to the restroom. So I have been the Nurse.

Umm, friends, can I tell you how much I stink at being a nurse. Ask me to encourage someone, sure! Or ask me to run an errand, okey dokey. Ask me to help take care of someone who just had surgery….do you want them to live?

I am not the most patient of persons to say the least.

But as I look back over the last two weeks I am in awe. Not once have I snapped at my Mom or been impatient. Not once have I complained of being home almost all the time. Not once did I whine.

And this is how I know Christ is IN me…

My flesh cried out to whine and complain and be impatient. He knew I need to be more to my Mom and His Spirit flowed through me.

There was one day I think I went back and forth from the kitchen to her bedroom at least 20 times in less than 30 minutes. And I did not get angry or frustrated.

He gave me peace. More importantly He gave me understanding.

There are some things in my life I can do with out thinking. Loving the teens I work with, even though they are less than loving toward me- easy! Encouraging others and praying for them- easy!

Being a nurse- not easy!

Being a nurse with the loving help of my Savior- piece of cake!

I am so grateful He dwells in me, my Hope of Glory.

2 Responses to “The one in which she is a Nurse…”


  1. 1 Maria D. December 8, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    I am glad that the Spirit is so apparent in your life! What an awesome feeling.

  2. 2 Kristen December 8, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Friends is my favorite show! (Or at least used to be! Still in the top 5)
    And your words today totally speak to me. The Hope of Glory does amazing things through us — like keeping me, a seriously impatient, woman from snapping out today too.

    Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,752 fellow journeyers

