Review of Through the Storm by Lynne Spears

I was not sure what I was going to think of this book…I will be honest I had started tuning out Britney stories awhile ago because I just could not see this young woman fall any farther. She broke my heart. And I will also be honest and tell you I had many preconcived notions about the Spears family.

Lynne Spears shatters all of my notions in just the first few chapters. Yes her daughters have had less than stellar repuations, with one being pregnant and having a child out of wedlock, to one having a breakdown of sorts early this year. Of course our first thought is Where is the Mother? Lynne Spears shows you what life was like for the Spears family, through death and divorce, happiness and heartache. The most important thing I learning in this book is that we are all human, we all basically want the same thing. LOVE.

Lynne Spears does not offer excuses or platitudes about her behavior or her families behavior instead she just tells the story of their lives, the good and the bad. She tells you honestly of her regrets and of her bad choices. It is all done in honesty and with heart.

The book is an easy read, I actually read it in one sitting as once I started reading I just could not stop.

You see a mothers heart in this book, a mother who loves her children and has done the best that she knows how. And in the end all that really matters is that she LOVED.

If you enjoy autobiographies definitely give this one a glance!

Preview the BOOK!

For more information and to purchase the book go HERE!

2 Responses to “Review of Through the Storm by Lynne Spears”


  1. 1 Kristen November 24, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read this book. I read an excerpt a few weeks ago in a magazine and thought it was so interesting.

    You are so right — we all want the same things, make mistakes…need redemption.

    Thanks for the review! I’m going to get it.

  2. 2 Amydeanne November 25, 2008 at 10:21 am

    interesting post Christy. I don’t honestly think their lives are different than most of america other than they’re famous… the devastating look at life w/o Christ.
    Thanks for the great review!

    re: WFW! I love it! I love how much you’ve grown over the year I can really see your skills fine-tuning!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,752 fellow journeyers

