Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday

faith_fiction21

It is time for Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday hosted by the lovely Amy.

Today’s question:

We’ve been blessed to finally start seeing some of our favorite Christian books come to life on film. So far, these have been largely low budget films, but they generally get the heart of the books across. But my question for you is…if you had an unlimited budget, what Christian fiction book would you like to see made into a film? Who would you cast in the main roles? Would you have a preference on director? Any songs you’d like to see on the soundtrack?

My answer:
Oh wow where to start! Ok so I have a double answer. First I would love, love, love for the Christy Miller series by Robin Jones Gunn to be made into a movie(s)! I think so many young ladies have grown up with these books and it made make a fantastic move, and show girls what love should be and should not be…..

Ok now for my second answer…
It is hard to choose between The Princess by Lori Wick or Pretense by Lori Wick…I would choose Pretense! First of all the novel is very long (around 800 pages I do believe) but it has everything! It has drama, romance, death, life….let’s just say I think it would be an amazing movie. The story line also goes through most of the main characters lives, from birth to marriage. So it would be an easy to come up with the screenplay.

I would definitely have Anne Hathaway as MacKenzie. As for Delancy hmm, I think for the rest of the cast I would choose less well known but amazing actors. As for a director, Andy Tennant, he has directed some of my favorite movies :o) And as for music I would want Alan Silvestri to compose and want the amazing Third Day, David Crowder, and Tenth Avenue North on the soundtrack… new and original songs of course :o)

I think my ideas would make for an amazing movie…how about you? :o)

For more fun answers go visit My Friend Amy!

Cheerio,

P.S. I know a great deal of people did not like the book Pretense when it came out but it has always been one of my favorites :o) I like longer books :o)

11 Responses to “Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday”


  1. 1 Amy @ My Friend Amy November 22, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Oh man I remember LOVING Pretense, but now i don’t remember anything it was about! :) I didn’t read the Christy books, either. But thanks for calling me lovely!

  2. 2 Melissa (ForstRose) November 22, 2008 at 1:04 am

    I haven’t read either of those but Pretense sounds like one I ought to add to my Library search list for when I run out of TBR piles.

    I love long books too – provided of course they are quality writing and a great story.

    I don’t know enough about Pretense to know if it is at all similar to one of my faves other than length but I absolutely loved Time Masters Book One: The Call by Geralyn Beauchamp. A little Fantasy, Adventure, Romance, Suspense et al in this one and while shorter than Lori’
    s book it is still nearly 600pages and was almost half again as long as Julie Lessman’s books if you go by word count. If you search the book or author on my blog or Google you can find more on it.

    Thanks for the comment on my blog as well.

  3. 3 Sally November 22, 2008 at 8:38 am

    I’ve read the first book in the Christy series and have the others to read in my future. I agree that it would be a fine film, especially traveling around the different countries. I’ve never read Pretense.

    My answer is here:
    http://bookcritiques.blogspot.com/2008/11/faith-n-fiction-saturday.html

  4. 4 Amy November 22, 2008 at 10:11 am

    My daughter would be cheering for The Christy Miller series to be made into a movie. She loves them.
    I haven’t read Lori Wick yet. I must give her a try.

  5. 5 rcwriter November 22, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    The Christy Miller series would be fantastic. It would be a a great alternative to the teen movies with loose morals.

  6. 6 Wendi November 22, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I haven’t read any of the books you’ve mentioned, but I absolutely love Anne Hathaway – she has been in some wonderful movies!

    :) Wendi

  7. 7 Sunny November 22, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I havent read those, but they sound interesting. Cant go wrong with Anne Hathaway, too! And I love your choice of music!!

  8. 8 Dani in NC November 22, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I’ve been reading the different blogs that have participated in this Faith ‘n’ Fiction prompt and a lot of them have picked thrillers to be made into movies. I’m sure that the thrillers have plenty of action that would translate well to the screen, but I must admit that I prefer to see the romances.
    I’ve watched “Love Comes Softly” several times. I haven’t read the Christy Miller series but it sounds like a good choice.

  9. 9 Mimi Pearson November 22, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I haven’t read those books. Looks like I need to. I wish we could get some of those Christy Miller books on Wild Card.

  10. 10 Nise' November 22, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I love long books and will check out the 800 page one!

  11. 11 Lindsey@A Kindred Spirits Thoughts November 24, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Oh man, Pretense. I remember reading that and crying through it and loving it! I need to re-read it. :-) I also enjoyed the Christy Miller series growing up – that would have been a great movie/series!

    My post is up now, it took me awhile to get it together. :-)


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,751 fellow journeyers

