My sleeping patterns and LOVE.

I am one of those toss and turn people. I toss and turn for about 15 to 20 minutes before I find a comfy position and fall asleep. Last night as I tossed and turned I realized something….I toss and turn in the same way every night. As I began to think on this I realized how much my tossing and turning is comparable to how I see my relationship with Christ.

I always start out on my left side when I lay down, soon I turn to my stomach, and then my right side, and then finally my back. But I always return to my left side and this is where I fall asleep. It so reminds me of how our relationship with Christ is. We find that we want to change our relationship with Christ so we turn one way or another, trying new things or even taking a break. But slowly we come back to the thing that brought us to Him in the first place, Love. We try works, we try grace, we try it all but in the end it is LOVE that keeps us returning. True love is comfy and familiar, just like me sleeping on my left side. I say it is comfy and familiar because it is from God, and not of this world. Love from the world is anything but comfy and familiar. But love from God is because He created us in LOVE. But sometimes I try to rest in a different way, like making works my priority instead of love. In the end I move on, because it is not LOVE. And so I end my tossing and turning back where I am familiar, and I end my seeking at the thing I find most familiar, HIS LOVE.

I am beginning to see how LOVE should influence my life as a follower of Christ and that lack of LOVE in my life, and in the church. More on that later….

So this post is a jumping point for my thoughts to come…

Cheerio,

3 Responses to “My sleeping patterns and LOVE.”


  1. 1 Laina Breazeale November 19, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    SUCH a nice post… I think we have the beginnings of a devotional…

  2. 2 Kristen November 19, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Such truth. “If I have not love…”

  3. 3 Willnette November 19, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    A great jumping point- love how you worded this our tossing and turning and coming right back to what we know God’s love. Thanks so much for sharing


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,751 fellow journeyers

