Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday: Reviewing

faith_fiction2

I am so glad to be back to posting this week with Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday! So here is this week’s question:

Do you receive review copies of Christian books? If so, do you review them honestly? How do you handle it when you don’t like a book but are obligated to provide a review? Who do you see your first commitment being to in book reviewing (besides God)? Yourself? The author? Your readers? Does your review change based on the spiritual content of the book or is it solely based on technical or artistic merit? Have you ever had a negative experience with an author after giving them a negative review?

yes I do receive and review Christian books. I receive books through several different avenues. And Yes I review them honestly. Because as a Christian I feel that I must. I am not going to lie to my bloggy readers and tell them I enjoyed a book if I did not enjoy it. I feel that my first commitment is to my bloggy readers, they expect me to be honest and they are counting on the truth. I also feel that if the author puts themselves out there they must be willing to take the positive along with the negative. Now if I do not care for a book I am going to tell my bloggy readers why…which leads into the next part of the question about spiritual content, as well as technical and artistic merit. To be honest this is why I love FIRST Wildcard tours…I get to choose books I like and I am kinda excited that all of FIRST is going to the Wildcard format…then I can choose what I like and do not like…which I do with the other avenues in which I receive review books. I am not picky about spiritual content, as a reader of Christian and secular books, but I do expect certain spiritual content in a Christian book. Hmm well than yes I guess my review would depend on spiritual content….and definitely on technical and artistic elements as well. Because one should enjoy reading I think technical and artistic elements are important. If I feel that a book is too off base in reality I am going to let me bloggy readers know…or if technical it is not up to my standard, again I will let my bloggy readers know. Of course each of us are going to have different standards and views in these ideas. And no I have not had any negative experiences with authors, in fact my experiences have been great.

I think the main thing to remember in reviewing a book is to do it honestly, and not in a mean spirited or malicious way…we are Christians and called to a higher standard.

My hope, as a reviewer, is to promote Christian fiction and to let others out there know what amazing Christian fiction is out there. The genre of Christian has grown by leaps and bounds in the last 10 years! I also hope that authors know when they are putting a product out there that they know not everyone is going to like it….that is what the makes the world go round…we are all different :o) And while I may not like it I am going to be honest about it but not in a malicious way, although it is not very often I do not like something dealing with reading…haha it is my favorite thing to do :o)

 

So there you have my opinion on the above question :o)

 

For more Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday fun go visit My Friend Amy.

14 Responses to “Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday: Reviewing”


  1. 1 Amy @ My Friend Amy November 15, 2008 at 2:01 am

    I agree! Honesty with kindness. :)

  2. 2 Kelly November 15, 2008 at 2:10 am

    Perfect answers. I think you are doing what you should do. You are honest, and really that is what I hope to get when I read a review. I certainly do not want to hear a rave about a book only to purchase it and hate it. That can definitely happen in all genres.

    I like your take on it. :)

    Blessings

    Kelly

  3. 3 Sally November 15, 2008 at 8:56 am

    I agree that we MUST be honest, while being Christlike.

  4. 4 paizefiddler November 15, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Your bloggy readers – I LOVE it! lol

    Agree with the general concensus here so far on F & F Sat. Honesty with a dose of kindness. That’s my formula. Any good author with a serious desire to improve their craft and help spread the WORD with their books must needs be able to take constructive criticism. And there are sooooooo many GREAT Christian authors and books out there now.

  5. 5 Mimi Pearson November 15, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Awesome answers! I love that you are honest, but do it with a loving hand.

  6. 6 Sunny November 15, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Nice response! I think it’s important to be honest but not mean.

  7. 7 Kim November 15, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Amen to this! You have nailed our purpose beautifully!

    Kim

  8. 8 Kelly November 15, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Hi Christy! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I just joined the Thomas Nelson review last week. I am waiting for the book by Tim McGraw. I am really glad they are doing this. :)

    Have a great weekend!

  9. 9 Stormi November 15, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Honesty is the key! Great answer.

  10. 10 Wendi B. November 16, 2008 at 12:38 am

    I agree with what you have said. Honesty is important. Without it, our reviews won’t be worth anything.

    :) Wendi

    I’ve got mine up late . . .
    Here
    is my Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday post.

  11. 11 Andie November 16, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Christy,

    This is my first time at your blog, and it’s very nice. Let me also say that you couldn’t have said it better! Very clear and honest, and concise.

    ;o) Andie

  12. 12 Lindsey@A Kindred Spirits Thoughts November 16, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    “I think the main thing to remember in reviewing a book is to do it honestly, and not in a mean spirited or malicious way…we are Christians and called to a higher standard.”

    I agree! I always try to remember that just because a book isn’t my “cup of tea” there are others who will like it. Here’s my post (late): http://kindredthought.blogspot.com/2008/11/faith-n-fiction-saturday-on-sunday.html

  13. 13 Wyndy November 16, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Very good response. I like the way you express yourself. Have a great week.

  14. 14 MJ November 17, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I’m so glad that there are people like you in FWC!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,751 fellow journeyers

