Word Filled Wednesday

wfw-25

I went on a spiritual direction retreat (class) this weekend with Dr David Benner as my professor…and it was amazing.

Early Friday morning Dr Benner read us this scripture and had us listen for the word that spoke to us. As you can see in the photo the word that spoke to me was know. I spent my weekend with lots of silence and stillness getting to know my Abba Father. It was heaven on earth… to have this unhurried solitude with just me and my God each afternoon. I am not an outdoor gal but I spent much of my time sitting next to the river on a bench in awe of the beauty our God has created and I spent a great deal of time in His Word, His living, breathing, active Word. Glorious does not even come close to describing it.

I love that God meets us where we are, not where we think we should be.

I hope that you take time to Be Still and Know who He is today.

For more Word Filled Wednesday go and visit Amy Deanne!

Blessings.

And by the way there are bloggers in the Dominican Republic this week for Compassion and you can read their blogs by going here Compassion Bloggers.

17 Responses to “Word Filled Wednesday”


  1. 1 Twinkle Mom November 5, 2008 at 2:22 am

    Beautiful! It sounded like you had a very refreshing and inspiring retreat! Thank you for sharing that beautiful wfw verse!

  2. 2 Lana G! November 5, 2008 at 2:27 am

    One of my favorite verses!

    I love that God meets us where we are, not where we think we should be.

    Love that!

  3. 3 A Damsel No Longer in Distress November 5, 2008 at 2:41 am

    Hello sweet sister,

    It is good to be back! I missed all of you too! :-) You’re such a kind sister!

    LOVED your Picture-Scripture…what jumps out at me is the words “be still”. Thank you for the encouragement…I will be sure to make this my priority today! :-)

    Bless you sweet sister,
    Sunny

    P.S. OOPS! I just realized I put my comment in the wrong post! :-)

  4. 4 Denise November 5, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Really lovely verse, and picture.

  5. 5 Chickie Momma November 5, 2008 at 3:04 am

    Beautiful post! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and I’m glad to hear you got a spiritual “break”!

  6. 6 Mokihana November 5, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Beautiful.. I love how you centered “know” right on the bench!

  7. 7 alihsee November 5, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Looks like a lovely spot!

    “When the oceans rise & thunders roar,
    I will soar with you above the storm.
    Father, you are King over the flood,
    I will be still & know you are God.”
    Still – Reuben Morgan

  8. 8 Jill November 5, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Oh yes! I breath deep with those words before me – Be Still! Ahhhh! Selah – Yes, LORD! Waiting on You!

    Have a blessed day and so glad you are home refreshed with His goodness and love!
    Jill

  9. 9 Willow November 5, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Beautiful pic and yet ANOTHER verse/post in the “be still” message that the Father is drilling into my head! (He knows that sometimes I am stubborn and slow so I am finding variations on this everywhere I look!) God bless.

  10. 10 hip chick November 5, 2008 at 7:28 am

    I have a new camera and have been walking in the woods with it these last few months. At least once a day out there I come across a scene that is so beautiful and peaceful that I think that verse.

  11. 11 Deanna November 5, 2008 at 10:33 am

    I am so glad that we can “Be still” and KNOW. Without a doubt. Without fear. Without all certainty. He is God. Always has been God. Always will be God.

  12. 12 Laurie Ann November 5, 2008 at 10:35 am

    It sounds like you had a lovely, refreshing time. That Scripture is one I read last night. I love it, because so often we hurry through life, when God just wants us to be still and KNOW. Beautiful picture and wonderful Scripture. I love how the Word of God spoke to you. God bless you, and Happy WFW!

  13. 13 LauraLee Shaw November 5, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Ahhhh, be still. I love knowing that even when life is busy, my heart and soul can be still in HIm. Beautiful.

  14. 14 Melanie November 5, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Great post and I love the thoughts you shared. We all need more time to “be still and KNOW God”.

    Happy WFW!

  15. 15 lori@allyouhavetogive November 5, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    THE verse I need to remind myself often! THANK you for sharing it today!
    peace,
    lori

  16. 16 Tracy November 6, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Christy,

    What a tranquil, peaceful photo. There is truly such comfort in stillness and the knowlege He is God, and He is in control of all. Beautiful WFW! Thank you for sharing with us. Sounds like a wonderful retreat.

    Blessings,
    Tracy

  17. 17 Amydeanne November 7, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    beautifully done C!

    and you asked what program, i use paint shop pro!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,782 fellow journeyers

