Christian Fiction Carnival

It is Saturday and that means that once again Amy is hosting The Saturday Christian Fiction Canival meme…and this week’s question is…

Whether or not you celebrate Halloween, there’s something about the shorter days and chilly air that makes one want to curl up with a scary book. The horror market for Christian fiction is growing in creativity and testing all sorts of boundaries. The suspense market is also very rich with many talented authors. So my question(s) for you is…what’s the best Christian fiction horror or suspense novel that you’ve read? What book would you recommend to someone who wanted to try out these genres? What’s a book in these genres you want to read but haven’t yet?

Hmm well I am not one for horror so I have not read anything in that genre…ever :o) I do like me some suspense however. I was first introduced to suspense through Gilbert Morris and his Dani Ross series…I still love those books :o)

I think Dee Henderson has always been my favorite suspense writer…why? Because not only do you get suspense but you get romance too…and her O’Malley series is quite possibly my most favorite series ever. I have also always enjoyed Terri Blackstock…I have read most of her books and she too does a great job of suspense and romance. I also would say that Susan May Warren’s Mission: Russia series is suspense…and it ranks up there with Dee Henderson’s O’Malley series. I also enjoy Elizabeth White’s books and they have an element of suspense too. I love the element of suspense in books, it keeps the plot going and it keeps you guessing. I especially love the tension…some authors are excellent at building and keeping tension in their stories.

I was introduced to Ted Dekker a few years ago with his Blessed series, which is amazing, but cannot get into a great many of his books…although I did enjoy the Saint. I tried to read Three but well let’s just say being a psychology major ruined that book for me :o) I have also tried to read some of Frank Peretti’s book but to no avail…

I have also enjoyed books by Robert Whitlow, Randy Alcorn, Mel Odom, and Debra White Smith (her 7 sisters series). And the Love Inspired Suspense line is very good too.

Well when I first saw the question I thought I don’t read that many suspense novels but as I looked at my bookshelf and wrote this post I realized I love suspense novels (especially with a little romance thrown in!)

I have two books that I am looking forward to reading right now: Riven by Jerry Jenkins and Forsaken by James David Jordan.

For more SCFC fun including other’s views on this week’s question go visit My Friend Amy

13 Responses to “Christian Fiction Carnival”


  1. 1 Wendi B. October 25, 2008 at 2:17 am

    Isn’t it funny? As I looked at my shelves, I realized I too read more mystery/thriller than I thought, although they aren’t my normal genres.

    :) Wendi

    Here’s mine:
    http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com/2008/10/saturday-christian-fiction-carnival_24.html

  2. 2 Nise' October 25, 2008 at 10:54 am

    I am looking forward to reading the Mission: Russia series and have yet to read James David Jordan (he has been recommended to me many times).

  3. 3 Lindsey@A Kindred Spirits Thoughts October 25, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I did the same thing… I read a LOT more suspense/thrillers than I thought I did! Is one of the titles of the Mission: Russia series called “Ekaterina”? Because if it is I did read one of those. And I looove the O’Malley series, too! I have them all! Didn’t think of that bunch… :-)

    Here’s my post: http://kindredthought.blogspot.com/2008/10/saturday-christian-fiction-carnival_24.html

  4. 4 Kara S @ Ramblings-n-Writings October 25, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I never heard of the Mission: Russia series. If they’re as good as the O’Malley series, I’m definitely picking up some copies to read!!! Thanks for the recommendation! =)

  5. 5 Kelly October 25, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I never heard of the Mission: Russia series either. I will definitely check it out! I think I am more into suspense. I do like general fiction horror though like Stephen King. For some mysterious suspense I really enjoy Colleen Coble. Abomination was GREAT!

    Blessings

    Kelly

  6. 6 Sunny October 25, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    I really loved Wiser Than Serpents (Mission: Russia series #3…hadnt read the first 2 though, but they’re on my list)!

    I like suspense, but not really horror. I enjoy the edge-of-your-seat stuff that keeps me guessing…and I’m like you, I like a little romance thrown in for fun!

    I read Forsaken and it was good, but not quite as suspenseful as I thought it’d be (but before I read it I had read an over-hyped review on it that made it sound more than it was).

    I added some of the ones you named to my list to check out! Thanks!

  7. 7 Wyndy October 25, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    You have offered me a good list of possibilities. Thanks.

  8. 8 Amy @ My Friend Amy October 25, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    I love romantic suspense, too. ;)

  9. 9 MizB October 25, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I’m currently reading FORSAKEN, and it’s pretty good. :)

    MizB

  10. 10 Mimi October 25, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    I’m not that into horror/thriller either. I do love Robert Liparulo and Sue Dent though. ;-)

  11. 11 Mimi B October 26, 2008 at 12:42 am

    I have to stop posting after our other Mimi so people don’t get us confused! :) Anywho, I loved Dee Henderson’s books as well. Still waiting for something new by her. Why did being a psychology major ruin Three for you? I have it on my shelf. Were you able to figure it all out? Bummer. I agree that I have lots of suspense Christian as well.

    the “other” Mimi ~no pixie dust here

  12. 12 Lisa Parker October 27, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I’m glad you like the Blessed series by Dekker, I loved that too! :)I might check out some of your recommendations, especially those with romance in it (Robert Whitlow, Randy Alcorn and Mel Odom). I enjoyed Henderson’s too, btw.

    Crittyjoy, how ’bout Peretti’s Oath, This Present Darkness and the Visitations? Not to mention Dekker’s House, which I currently have in my shelf but unable to read it due to lack of time for now. It’ll be in theaters on November 7 BTW, you guys might want to check their site, http://housethemovie.net .

  13. 13 Kim October 28, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Oh man! I let Dee Henderson slip my mind! And what about Kristen Heitzmann? There are so many good books now! And I’ve read almost all of Ted Dekker too. Thrills are a blast among the pages of a good book!

    Oooohhhh!!!

    Kim
    WINDOW TO MY WORLD


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,752 fellow journeyers

