Word Filled Wednesday

The name of the LORD is a strong tower;
the righteous run to it and are safe. Proverbs 10:18

I love the visual that this verse creates….the word strong is so important in the verse to me. He is strong enough to handle what ever we bring Him, and His name, His very name, is strong enough to keep us safe.

As I have said many times, music speaks to me…especially when it uses God’s Word. As I have thought over the last week and what has gone on in the lives of those around me this song (as well as the verse of course :o) has been formost in my mind:

When I wander through the desert
And I’m longing for my home
All my dreams have gone astray
When I’m stranded in the valley
And I’m tired and all alone
It seems like I’ve lost my way

I go running to Your moutain
Where your mercy sets me free

You are my strong tower
Shelter over me
Beautiful and mighty
Everlasting King
You are my strong tower
Fortress when I’m weak
Your name is true and holy
And Your face is all I seek

In the middle of my darkness
In the midst of all my fear
You’re my refuge and my hope
When the storm of life is raging
And the thunder’s all I hear
You speak softly to my soul

Strong Tower-Kutless

I love how this song uses that verse…and reminds us He is our refuge, our strong tower, and our hope even when that storm is raging all we have to do is call His name.

So if you are feeling downcast today run to your strong tower and He will keep you safe.

For more Word Filled Wednesday goodness visit Amy Deanne.

Blessings.

16 Responses to “Word Filled Wednesday”


  1. 1 Mokihana October 22, 2008 at 2:06 am

    I really love how the cross made the T in tower…

    It’s interesting how you and I both spoke of desert places in this week’s WFW…

  2. 2 Esthermay October 22, 2008 at 3:04 am

    Beautiful verse – Beautiful photo – Beautiful thought. Happy WFW! I like the cross too. Nice work!

  3. 3 Rebecca October 22, 2008 at 3:09 am

    A beautiful verse. The word that speaks to my heart today is SAFE. What a beautiful depiction!

  4. 4 hip chick October 22, 2008 at 5:23 am

    I like that verse. I think that in these trying financial times more and more people will be running to the Lord.

  5. 5 Denise October 22, 2008 at 5:42 am

    This is really nice.

  6. 6 he & me +3 October 22, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Love love love it! Awesome picture and even better verse!

  7. 7 Tammy October 22, 2008 at 7:32 am

    I too love that verse and song. It is comforting to know we have a strong tower we can run to.

    Blessings,
    Tammy @ http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/mominmi

  8. 8 Deanna October 22, 2008 at 8:52 am

    A strong tower has a brand new meaning after going through Hurricane Katrina. It feels so affirming to know that God is constantly there for us in this way.

  9. 9 Laurie Ann October 22, 2008 at 9:01 am

    That’s one of my favorite songs right now! I hummed it all day long yesterday, it seemed. Beautiful WFW! Thanks for reminding us that there is STRENGTH in the name of the Lord!

  10. 10 gail October 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    great pic and verse!

  11. 11 Melanie October 22, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Love how this verse is shown in the picture.

    Happy WFW!

  12. 12 Jill October 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Awesome photo and verse! Beautifully said and so thankful for His presence in our lives as our strong tower!

    Blessings,
    Jill

  13. 13 kristi October 22, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    We are huge Kutless fans and I LOVE that song. Your WFW is perfect! Great job! Blessings to you!

  14. 14 Nancie October 22, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Thank God that He is our refuge and strong tower! I am so comforted that I can hide in Him. Thanks for your encouragement. I just added an Award ie “If You Ever Need a Hand, I’m Here” Award to my post. I like to share it with you and my other blogging friends. Please come over and receive the Award and pass it on to your friends. Take care and God bless!

  15. 15 Michele Williams October 22, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    What a wonderful picture and verse. Thank you for sharing the song too. Lovely.

  16. 16 Amydeanne October 22, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    let’s pray we remember this so much more!!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,752 fellow journeyers

