Saturday Christian Fiction Carnival

So Amy over at My Friend Amy blog is hosting a Christian Fiction Carnival on Saturday’s and it looks fun so I thought I would join in…every week she will ask a question you can answer :o)

This weeks question:

Why do you read and review Christian fiction? Do you exclusively read Christian fiction or do you also read general market books?

Why do I read and review Christian fiction? I grew up reading Christian fiction. I have always, always loved to read. I am the type of person most people do not understand as I will choose to read over television, movies, and music :o) So at a young age, around 8 or 9, I started reading Janette Oak and Gilbert Morris. As a teenage I loved the Christian books geared toward me, especially the romance ones…I have a romantic heart! I remember a series called Live from Brentwood High that I loved as well as the PCU series…and the Christy Miller series…and to this day it is still my favorite :o) So of course I LOVE it and it seemed like a natural step to start reviewing Christian fiction…which I had no clue exisited until my friend Jen from So Many Books introduced me to FIRST and CFBA…and I loved it! I love getting the word out about Christian authors…they work so hard at what they do and it is such a blessing! I recently jumped into doing Author interview (my first with my favorite Julie Lessman) and had such fun that I hope to continue doing this also. Because of time commitments (darn grad school haha!) I had to drop out of CFBA and was so bummed but I felt that I needed to read the books I was sent and at least let others know about them…it is my favorite part of the day when I can sit down and read a good book :o)

Do I exclusively read Christian fiction? Nope. I did until around 4 years ago though. But I have been introduced to some really great general market authors that I really enjoy, and I feel as an adult now that I know what is reality and not reality. At some point I think it would be fun to review general market fiction also. Once again that pesky time situation gets in the way :o) At one point in my live I thought I would never read general market but after being introduced to said authors I realized that I know my limit of what to read and not to read…as with any conviciton as a Christian I feel that we each have our own personal convictions so I do have mine as a reader.

I am just so thankful there are authors out there in the world who supply us with the wonderfulness that is books :o)

6 Responses to “Saturday Christian Fiction Carnival”


  1. 1 Stormi October 18, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Hi,

    I wish I would have known about Christian fiction growing up. My first romances were harliquin when I was sixteen..not the thing a young lady needs to be reading..wish I would have known about Christian romance would have save a lot of blushing and skipping sections. :)

  2. 2 M. C. Pearson October 18, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    My first Christian fiction was Stephan Lawhead’s Dream Thief. I fell in love with it and got a job in a Christian book store soon afterward! That way I was able to read the books for free…who knew that years later pubs would be sending me the books to review?!! Life is crazy and wonderful!

  3. 3 Kelly October 19, 2008 at 1:26 am

    That is awesome. I really did not know of how many good Christian series were out there when I was young. One of the many reasons I have really gotten into reading YA Christian fiction is so I can pass good books on to my son and neices. It is so great to have good characters that they can relate too!

    Looking forward to reading more of your blogs and reviews!

    Kelly

  4. 4 Wendi B. October 19, 2008 at 2:04 am

    I grew up reading Janette Oke – my favorite series of hers was the Canadian West series, which I believe has a few more books to it now! :)

    Have a great weekend! ~ Wendi
    http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com/2008/10/saturday-christian-fiction-carnival.html

  5. 5 Nise' October 19, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I have never read Janet Oke or Gilbert Morris. There have been many times when my personal convictions have stopped me from reading a certain book. It is always easy to pick up another one.

  6. 6 Sunny October 20, 2008 at 10:35 am

    I choose to read over TV and such too. A lot of times dh is watching TV and I think “my book is waaaay more interesting than this show!”

    I also wish I knew about Christian fiction when I was young.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,774 fellow journeyers

