Word Filled Wednesday

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Matthew 11:28

I needed this verse this week.

And of course when I think of the beach I think about resting and a peacefulness.

If you remember I posted a WFW about my grandmother last month….she is dear to me and she is dying. There is always such conflicting emotions in that statement, grief, relief, and at times a sense of rejoicing. Grief in that I will miss her on earth but relief in that when she goes Home she will not suffer anymore. And rejoicing in that she will be in the Arms of our Savior. What a wonderful thing that will be for her. But with this is a weariness and a burden for my family. My Mum is going to be devastated. I know the next few days, weeks, and months are going to be a whirlwind of emotion…but in the midst of that is REST. My heart is heavy but my burdens are light because He is carrying them and I can Rest. Rest in the knowledge that He loves her more than we can imagine, Rest in the knowledge that I will see her again, Rest in the knowledge that she will have no more suffering. Rest in knowing in the midst of all of this He is holding me in His Arms.

Blessings to you my dear WFW friends and I pray that you find Rest in Him today, tomorrow, and always.

For more WFW go visit Amy Deanne!

Cheerio

17 Responses to “Word Filled Wednesday”


  1. 1 Nancie August 20, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Very comforting verse! I need to hear this today too. The beach always give me a very relaxing feeling. Sorry to hear about your grandmother. Thank God for the blessed hope that she has in Christ and your assurance of it. Thank God too for giving you rest in Him in the knowledge that in the midst of all of this He is holding you in His Arms. How comforting! May God continue to comfort and strengthen you and your family in this time of need. May He give your beloved grandmother peace and joy in Him. Thanks for sharing with us. Take care and God bless you and family always!

  2. 2 Tracy August 20, 2008 at 6:05 am

    What a beautiful promise. God has definitely comforted me through your scripture today. That photo is perfect and beautiful. So very sorry about your Grandmother. May God grant you strength and peace in the days ahead.

    Blessings,
    Tracy

  3. 3 Carolyn August 20, 2008 at 7:40 am

    I love tht verse. it has sustained me and given me peace over my trials many times! Thanks for sharing that one. I am lifting your family up before the throne of grace!

  4. 4 ozjane August 20, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Always there is that safe place of rest, peace and security.
    Hold tight as you are held.

  5. 5 Denise August 20, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Praying for God to be close to your family during this time sweetie.

  6. 6 Kristi August 20, 2008 at 10:34 am

    That was simply beautiful and peaceful. I’m praying for you and your family today!

  7. 7 amy August 20, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Love it….. the verse, the picture, the layout….. great job and a mighty big promise from our Lord.

  8. 8 Melanie August 20, 2008 at 10:47 am

    A great illustration for such a comforting verse. Praying for your family today and in the months to come.

  9. 9 Blessed One August 20, 2008 at 10:58 am

    This was a verse I very much needed today. Thank you for sharing. I pray too for you, your Grandmother and family. I’m very close to my Gram as well, and at nearly 87, I face the reality that more than likely my time with her is coming to a close. The good news is that as believers, we shall see them again one day and they will be free from pain and sickness. Praise God! Blessings to you!

  10. 10 Lana G! August 20, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Praying for your family. May each of you be comforted and find rest in HIM.

  11. 11 Peggy August 20, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Blessings…this is such a comforting verse and beaches do the same for me! I know that you are dealing with mixed feelings but I so admire that you are preparing your heart, and spirit to deal with all of the grief ahead and holding on to the great JOY of her being home with Our Lord and that He will bring you rest and your mom. It’s always a difficult time but the Comforter is there through it on. I loved this and thank you for sharing!

  12. 12 Laurie Ann August 20, 2008 at 11:50 am

    This was such a comforting verse for me. I wanted you to know how it blessed me to be reminded that I can come to Him and He will give me rest. I need rest. I am so weary and burdened, but that’s a whole blog post in itself. I am so sorry to hear about your dear grandmother, but am so glad you have the blessed assurance that she will be in a better place once her time does come to leave this earth. I know your family will miss her and I am praying for ya’ll.

  13. 13 Bonnie August 20, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about your grandmother and completely understand what you’re going through. Two years ago today I lost my most beloved Nana and reading the verse and post took me right back to everything we went through at that time. I have no words of wisdom, you already know the good and the bad, I only ache that knowing what you know and reading what you’ve written, there will still come that heart wrench when it actually happens. We are never as prepared as we think we are. I just knew and still know that someday, God will abolish those heart wrenches and in the meantime, He loves us so deeply that we have not the ability to put His love into words. My prayer for you is He makes His sustaining you through all of this so obvious it is almost blinding. I could write for hours at the “little stuff” God did for me, for my family, for my grandmother’s friends in that time and I treasure each story – they remind me continually that God is so much bigger than death and death does not have victory. Blessings to you.

  14. 14 Deanna August 20, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    I needed this verse too. My heart is heavy right now too and I would love to join you in one of those beach chairs and share our burdens, a few tears and hopefully a few laughs.

  15. 15 Amydeanne August 20, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    so true! i love this verse! Thanks Christy! You are a real treasure!

  16. 16 Marilyn - A Mixed Bouquet August 20, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I’m sorry about your Grandmother. Your photo and verse is very reassuring and calming.

  17. 17 Tracy@Thirsty for Him August 21, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    What a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing your heart. I pray for His peace and comfort to fall a fresh upon you as you walk through this time with your grandmother.

    Blessings!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,782 fellow journeyers

