Word Filled Wednesday

Give proper recognition to those widows who are really in need. But if a widow has children or grandchildren, these should learn first of all to put their religion into practice by caring for their own family and so repaying their parents and grandparents, for this is pleasing to God. The widow who is really in need and left all alone puts her hope in God and continues night and day to pray and to ask God for help. 1 Timothy 5:3-5 (NIV)

The above photo is of me and my grandma….affectionately known as Memaw (we live in the south what do we expect haha!) She is 85. We had a scare with her last week and thought we were going to lose her. She is my only living grandparent and has always been special to me. I lived with her for several year after my grandfather passes away. She now lives in a nursing home near our home because she has dementia. As we went through the hospital stay, and the doctor’s visits, and finally the procedure that was dangerous these verse kept going through my mind. I first heard them in a class last year I was taking for my master’s degree. At the time I did not think much about the verse but they really spoke to me last week. Mostly in thinking about my Mum because she truly is pleasing our God by serving my Memaw. Family is so very important to me and this verse really says a lot when you read it. Especially verse 5. We are to learn to put our religion into practice so we can take care of our parents and grandparents, just as they have taken care of us. Being a Christian is about relationships just as that is what family is really all about. God’s Word constantly amazes me as it speaks to every situation in life…I am in awe sometimes :o) So there is my sentimental WFW!

For more WFW check out

12 Responses to “Word Filled Wednesday”


  1. 1 Nancie July 16, 2008 at 3:54 am

    Such a lovely photo of your grandma and you! Thanks for sharing this picture and precious verses. Thank God for your mum’s godly example. May God bless and keep you and family in His love always! Happy WFW!

  2. 2 Alexis July 16, 2008 at 5:04 am

    God bless you and your Memaw! I just pored over this verse over the last few days and seeing it come up again really hits home! Thank you so much for sharing.

  3. 3 kristi July 16, 2008 at 8:07 am

    You did a wonderful job! You both look so happy. What a treasure. Thank you for sharing this blessing today.

  4. 4 alihsee July 16, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Gorgeous photo! :) What a great reminder that we should be looking after those in our fellowship who may not have family support and that it is even a command! Happy WFW!

  5. 5 Lana G! July 16, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Oh what a treasure! Blessings on you and memaw. Great verses.

  6. 6 Ellen July 16, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Beautiful. A hearty amen to us taking care of our widows and loved ones!!

  7. 7 Terri Sue July 16, 2008 at 10:41 am

    What a blessing this was to me this morning. I have had a frustrating time this week as the caregiver to my dad. This verse just brought me back that I do this for the Lord and because He has commanded me to.

    Thank you,
    Terri Sue

  8. 8 Denise July 16, 2008 at 11:31 am

    This really touched my heart, bless you. My momma is in heaven now, her grandkids called her memaw.

  9. 9 Melanie July 16, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    A beautiful photo of you and your grandmother! You have touched my heart so today with this picture and wonderful reminder thru scripture.

  10. 10 Amydeanne July 16, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    you are beautiful and so is your grandmother! what a lovely moment you can share with us!!!

  11. 11 Laurie Ann July 16, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    This made me smile. You are both so beautiful. I’m so glad you shared this with us. It’s sound words of wisdom.

  12. 12 Tracy July 16, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    What a beautiful photo of you and your Memaw. How I loved reading about your love for her. Thank you for sharing this precious story and scripture in the context of such a special relationship. = )


Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 23,751 fellow journeyers

