Then sings my soul…

I could not sleep last night I had so many things going on inside my head.  My friend Laina is moving today…to Fort Lauderdale.  As sad as I am that she is leaving I am also so very excited for her and the new adventure that awaits her.   I often think of Laina as my “music friend”.  She loves it, okay that is an understatement, but words really cannot express how she feels about music.  She can sing and she can also play guitar.  She has done open mike nights for several months and everyone loves her! One of my most favorite memories with her is going any where music happens to be involved and her pronouncing “I LOVE this song” which she seemed to do for every song.  My heart is so endeared to her. As I thought and prayed for Laina I started thinking about music in general.

Music is possibly one of my favorite things in this world…right behind books that is!  But I never realized how much it spoke to me until a Third Day concert several (and I do mean several!) years ago.  I remember standing at the concert and feeling a stirring in my soul.  A stirring that is still there today when I hear certain songs.  I love that stirring.  Music is by far my favorite way to worship my Abba Daddy.  I love to sing even though I cannot carry a tune very well.  I think that is why Third Day has remained a constant favorite of mine…because I discovered a soul stirring love of all things music that night at their concert and things have not been the same.

Music changes the way I look at things.  For example the Cardboard Testimonies video really spoke to me, but part of the reason it did was because it was paired with a song that has been stuck in my head (and my soul) for a couple of weeks. I love that! I love that this is one way Abba Daddy speaks to me. He knows the music stirs my soul and he uses it. To convict me, to love me, to show me something and the list could go on.

I often do searches for quotes (another thing I learned from Laina!) about my favorite things…music being one of them I have collected several but I love this one:

Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.
Berthold Auerbach

I look at that quote and see why it stirs me…why it moves me. And I am even more endeared to it :o)

And of course there is always one that speaks to my counselors heart….

Music is the shorthand of emotion.
Leo Tolstoy

As I work with the adolescents at the Joy House they all tell me music speaks to them…I love using this in my sessions…because it speaks to me as well. That is my connection with them.

And my favorite…

You are the music while the music lasts.
T. S. Eliot

So enjoy some Music today…and let it stir your soul.

Cheerio

0 Responses to “Then sings my soul…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

To CrittyJoy's Book Blog! Here you will find past reviews and book tours. Enjoy!

You can contact me here: crittyjoyblog {at} gmail {dot} com

I have now combined my book blog and personal blog together...so visit me here: Photobucket

Visit My Personal Blog

tweet, tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • 23,782 fellow journeyers

